archive-org.com » ORG » D » DAVIDHARVEY.ORG

Total: 280

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • reviews Archives - Reading Marx's Capital with David Harvey
    Reddit Tumblr Email Recent Interviews and Rebel Cities Reviews November 14 2012 Interview Another City is Possible With Lucas Palero Toward Freedom November 6 2012 Audio Interview with Craig Cohen Illinois Public Media November 8 2012 Review Revolution Revisited Rebel Citied reviewed by James D Hoff The GC Advocate November 14 2012 Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email More on Rebel Cities Speaking in Boston October 18 October 16 2012 Interview David Harvey on Rebel Cities By Fatema Ahmed Icon Magazine Review Rebel Cities By Kanishk Tharoor Guernica October 15 2012 Lecture The Urbanization of Anti Capitalist Struggle Thursday October 18th 5 00pm Boston University Annual Humanities Lecture The Photonics Center Room 906 8 St Mary s Street Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email Video The Nature of Capital August 18 2012 Recent Rebel Cities Reviews David Harvey s Rebel Cities A Guide to the Vexed by Lucas Van Meer Mass The Toronto Review of Books August 15 2012 Cities of struggle by Andre Pusey Red Pepper August 2012 Rebel Cities by Mihaela Buna Bookslut August 2012 Previous Rebel Cities Reviews Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email Audio Interview on urban protests for BBC Radio 4 s Thinking Allowed July 5 2012 July 4 2012 Thinking Allowed BBC Radio 4 Interview on urban protest with Laurie Taylor Listen now See also July 5 2012 Not out of sentiment but relevance David Harvey s Rebel Cities reviewed By Tessa Morrison Verso Books Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email More Rebel Cities Reviews July 4 2012 Rebel Cities Review by Justin McGuirk Art Review June 2012 The City we Built and they Stole by Jonathan Moses Open Democracy 19 June 2012 It s hard to be a saint in the city by Dan Swain International Socialism 29 June 2012 Interview with Matt Mahon The White Review June 2012 Previous Rebel Cities reviews Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email Deploying Urban Space In These Times Reviews Rebel Cities May 31 2012 Deploying Urban Space In Rebel Cities David Harvey says places like Tahrir Square and Zuccotti Park are key tools for revolution By Maggie Garb In These Times May 31 2012 Other recent news Urban Revolution Part 1 Part 2 Interview with Ed Lewis John Brissenden New Left Project May 28 31 2012 Rebel Cities Review by Ruth Lorimer Socialist Review May 2012 Right to the Olympic Village a review of Rebel Cities by Lewis Beardmore Open Democracy May 27 2012 Living for the City a review of Rebel Cities by Ron Jacobs Truth Out May 24 2012 Rebel Cities Review by Ewan Mcdonald International Socialist Group May 21 2012 Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email Owen Hatherley Reviews Rebel Cities for The Guardian April 12 2012 Rebel Cities From the Right to the City to the Urban Revolution review by Owen Hatherley for Guardian Books Related Verso Blog Metropolitan Resistance Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email Financial Times

    Original URL path: http://davidharvey.org/category/reviews/ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive


  • The Micawber Solution by David Harvey
    four nine and a half of the second according to my entry of that transaction eighteen six two These sums united make a total if my calculation is correct amounting to forty one ten eleven and a half My friend Copperfield will perhaps do me the favour to check that total I did so and found it correct To leave this metropolis said Mr Micawber and my friend Mr Thomas Traddles without acquitting myself of the pecuniary part of this obligation would weigh upon my mind to an insupportable extent I have therefore prepared for my friend Mr Thomas Traddles and I now hold in my hand a document which accomplishes the desired object I beg to hand to my friend Mr Thomas Traddles my I O U for forty one ten eleven and a half and I am happy to recover my moral dignity and to know that I can once more walk erect before my fellow man With this introduction which greatly affected him Mr Micawber placed his I O U in the hands of Traddles and said he wished him well in every relation of life I am persuaded not only that this was quite the same to Mr Micawber as paying the money but that Traddles himself hardly knew the difference until he had time to think about it Copperfield notes the dramatic and salutary effect this solution had upon Mr Micawber He walked so erect before his fellow man on the strength of his virtuous action that his chest looked half as broad again when he lighted us downstairs We parted with great heartiness on both sides Being far wiser to financial ruses and surely less gullible than Mr Traddles and even David Copperfield we can all have a hearty laugh at the ingenious absurdity of Micawber s proposal But alas the laugh is on us For what is it that the Federal Reserve is doing if not wholeheartedly adopting Micawber s solution The Fed simply takes all the excess debts of banks consolidates them into one vast IOU and effectively locks the IOU in a cupboard And when anyone asks what does this portend the only answer we get from the virtuous banker is that something is bound to turn up Until it does we are told it is essential that we maintain that mutual confidence that can sustain us to the end of poverty misery houselessness hunger rags tempest and beggary So welcome to the Micawber solution to universal indebtedness Indeed it could be said we live in a Micawber economy But that is a good thing After all we can sleep easy of nights in the certain knowledge that something is bound to turn up I thank Katharina Bodirsky for alerting me to the relevant passages from David Copperfield David Harvey is a Distinguished Professor at the CUNY Graduate Center His most recent book is Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email articles Previous

    Original URL path: http://davidharvey.org/2014/08/micawber-solution/ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • On Why Struggles over Urban Space Matter: Jadaliyya Interview - Reading Marx's Capital with David Harvey
    of class struggle He highlights the importance of joining struggles in projects of social change and calls for re conceptualizing of the working class to include all those people who produce and reproduce urban life The original interview was recorded and subsequently transcribed by Duncan Wane Read the interview Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email interviews Previous post Video Contradictions of Capital OSU Next post Video What Are the Economics of the Creative Economy Comments are closed About the Course A close reading of the text of Karl Marx s Capital in free video lectures by David Harvey Start here David Harvey is a Distinguished Professor of Anthropology Geography at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York CUNY and the author of numerous books He has been teaching Karl Marx s Capital for over 40 years Read his CV Help keep these open courses online donate Help make the course accessible in other languages translation project Web hosting by Reclaim Hosting Questions or comments about this site contact webmaster credits Twitter My Tweets Recent Books The Ways of the World Profile Books UK 2016 The Ways of the World Oxford University Press US 2016 Seventeen

    Original URL path: http://davidharvey.org/2013/11/struggles-urban-space-matter-jadaliyya-interview/ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Video: Commons, Conflicts and Disasters - Reading Marx's Capital with David Harvey
    an interview in Teatro Valle Comments are closed About the Course A close reading of the text of Karl Marx s Capital in free video lectures by David Harvey Start here David Harvey is a Distinguished Professor of Anthropology Geography at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York CUNY and the author of numerous books He has been teaching Karl Marx s Capital for over 40 years Read his CV Help keep these open courses online donate Help make the course accessible in other languages translation project Web hosting by Reclaim Hosting Questions or comments about this site contact webmaster credits Twitter My Tweets Recent Books The Ways of the World Profile Books UK 2016 The Ways of the World Oxford University Press US 2016 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Profile Books UK 2014 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Oxford University Press US 2014 A Companion to Marx s Capital Volume 2 Verso 2013 Rebel Cities From the Right to the City to the Urban Revolution Verso 2012 More books Podcasts Subscribe to a course as a video or audio podcast with iTunes Choose M4V for iPod iPhone Volume I Or subscribe to

    Original URL path: http://davidharvey.org/2014/02/video-commons-conflicts-disasters/ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Puerto de Ideas 2014: David Harvey
    About the Course A close reading of the text of Karl Marx s Capital in free video lectures by David Harvey Start here David Harvey is a Distinguished Professor of Anthropology Geography at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York CUNY and the author of numerous books He has been teaching Karl Marx s Capital for over 40 years Read his CV Help keep these open courses online donate Help make the course accessible in other languages translation project Web hosting by Reclaim Hosting Questions or comments about this site contact webmaster credits Twitter My Tweets Recent Books The Ways of the World Profile Books UK 2016 The Ways of the World Oxford University Press US 2016 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Profile Books UK 2014 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Oxford University Press US 2014 A Companion to Marx s Capital Volume 2 Verso 2013 Rebel Cities From the Right to the City to the Urban Revolution Verso 2012 More books Podcasts Subscribe to a course as a video or audio podcast with iTunes Choose M4V for iPod iPhone Volume I Or subscribe to a podcast with any other feed reader Volume

    Original URL path: http://davidharvey.org/2015/01/puerto-de-ideas-2014-david-harvey/ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Uneven Growth: Tactical Urbanisms for Expanding Megacities
    articles Previous post Debating Marx s Crisis Theory The Falling Rate of Profit Next post Puerto de Ideas 2014 David Harvey Comments are closed About the Course A close reading of the text of Karl Marx s Capital in free video lectures by David Harvey Start here David Harvey is a Distinguished Professor of Anthropology Geography at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York CUNY and the author of numerous books He has been teaching Karl Marx s Capital for over 40 years Read his CV Help keep these open courses online donate Help make the course accessible in other languages translation project Web hosting by Reclaim Hosting Questions or comments about this site contact webmaster credits Twitter My Tweets Recent Books The Ways of the World Profile Books UK 2016 The Ways of the World Oxford University Press US 2016 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Profile Books UK 2014 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Oxford University Press US 2014 A Companion to Marx s Capital Volume 2 Verso 2013 Rebel Cities From the Right to the City to the Urban Revolution Verso 2012 More books Podcasts Subscribe to a course as a

    Original URL path: http://davidharvey.org/2014/12/uneven-growth-tactical-urbanisms-expanding-megacities/ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Video: Lecture on 'A Companion to Marx's Capital, Volume 1' in Porto Alegre - Reading Marx's Capital with David Harvey
    destruction Other links Verso A Companion to Marx s Capital Volume 2 to be published in September 2013 Spiegel Online Interview Urban Class Warfare Are Cities Built for the Rich Support Against the Grain and KPFA Radio Share this Facebook Twitter Google Reddit Tumblr Email lectures video Previous post Upcoming Speaking Events in London and Galway Next post In Solidarity With Istanbul Comments are closed About the Course A close reading of the text of Karl Marx s Capital in free video lectures by David Harvey Start here David Harvey is a Distinguished Professor of Anthropology Geography at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York CUNY and the author of numerous books He has been teaching Karl Marx s Capital for over 40 years Read his CV Help keep these open courses online donate Help make the course accessible in other languages translation project Web hosting by Reclaim Hosting Questions or comments about this site contact webmaster credits Twitter My Tweets Recent Books The Ways of the World Profile Books UK 2016 The Ways of the World Oxford University Press US 2016 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Profile Books UK 2014 Seventeen Contradictions and the

    Original URL path: http://davidharvey.org/2013/05/video-lecture-on-a-companion-to-marxs-capital-volume-1-in-porto-alegre/ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Video: Swindlers and Prophets: Facts, Fictions and Fetishisms - Reading Marx's Capital with David Harvey
    Speak Out Comments are closed About the Course A close reading of the text of Karl Marx s Capital in free video lectures by David Harvey Start here David Harvey is a Distinguished Professor of Anthropology Geography at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York CUNY and the author of numerous books He has been teaching Karl Marx s Capital for over 40 years Read his CV Help keep these open courses online donate Help make the course accessible in other languages translation project Web hosting by Reclaim Hosting Questions or comments about this site contact webmaster credits Twitter My Tweets Recent Books The Ways of the World Profile Books UK 2016 The Ways of the World Oxford University Press US 2016 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Profile Books UK 2014 Seventeen Contradictions and the End of Capitalism Oxford University Press US 2014 A Companion to Marx s Capital Volume 2 Verso 2013 Rebel Cities From the Right to the City to the Urban Revolution Verso 2012 More books Podcasts Subscribe to a course as a video or audio podcast with iTunes Choose M4V for iPod iPhone Volume I Or subscribe to a podcast with

    Original URL path: http://davidharvey.org/2013/01/video-swindlers-and-prophets-facts-fictions-and-fetishisms/ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive



  •