archive-org.com » ORG » D » DELFINI.ORG

Total: 82

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Evidence Based Health Care: Delfini Testimonials
    all of the training and insight that you have given me It really has made a huge difference in my professional life For example this summer I tackled an important safety debate It took me many hours but at the end of the day I concluded that we as a company needed to make new recommendations Without my Delfini training I would have never had the confidence nor been able to develop a convincing case I know sometimes the jaded medical world may feel that evidence based medicine and critical evaluations are nice academic exercises that rarely if ever influence member safety We know that this is not the case Keep carrying the banner of enlightenment in 2011 Your workshops help reignite for many the real reason they got involved in pharmacy and medicine in the first place We definitely can make a difference Name Held in Confidence State of Washington Department of Social and Health Services DSHS great job inspiring fantastic raving about your training a pleasure to work with you to make this day so special for our staff State of Washington Department of Social and Health Services DSHS chose Delfini to train their staff and clinicians who conduct medical necessity and other reviews Other state employees involved with improving Washington State s plan for improving health care such as from the Health Care Authority were also invited Testimonial below Mike and Sheri I just wanted to thank you once again for the great job you did today teaching our staff EBM assessment for validity and usefulness You were inspiring to our staff I just loved to see how attentive they were and to hear the great questions that were asked They were getting your messages Fantastic People are raving about your training I just heard how professional that it was that HRSA and the other agencies were presented in style and the staff really appreciated that I believe they recognized that we brought the very best to them showing that we value EBM and their work in this area Again thanks so much It was such a pleasure to work with you to make this day so special for our staff Siri Siri Childs Pharm D Pharmacy Policy Office Chief Department of Social Health Services Health Recovery Services Administration Division of Medical Benefits Care Management Medical Consulting Pharmacy Policy Units State of Washington Medical Leader Doug Dammrose MD Senior Vice President Medical Director Blue Cross of Idaho Meridian ID I fully support Delfini s approach I believe it is the right way I can highly recommend the Delfini faculty According to the Dartmouth Atlas Project lumbar spine surgery is four times greater in Idaho than most areas of the country Recently the Delfini Group conducted two evidence based training sessions where Idaho spine surgeons actively participated in evaluating the evidence regarding surgery and other modalities for lumbar back pain and discussed ways to improve patient care in this area I believe the evidence based approach used by

    Original URL path: http://www.delfini.org/delfiniTestimonialsMTA.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Evidence Based Health Care: Delfini Testimonials
    The representative for the AMA Physicians Consortium who was an observer at the meeting stated it was an outstanding program and incredibly well organized From the Director I wanted to let you both know how much I appreciated your willingness to adapt the program to our specific needs When you do something new you always wonder how it will be received by the attendees This program exceeded our high expectations The family physicians who attended were interested and engaged throughout the two and one half day program and I am sure the tools you shared will find good use in the near future for many of them Thank you for devoting your energy and your professionalism to our project Bruce Bagley M D Medical Director for Quality Improvement American Academy of Family Physicians From attendees Thanks Steep learning curve but well conducted and valuable You re a great speaker and I ve been around the block many times Frank Dornfest M B Ch B M F G P S A FAAFP Associate Professor Oregon Health and Sciences University Medical Director and Associate Residency Director OHSU Gabriel Park Family Health Center Oregon Health Science University The program that Mike Sheri put on was INCREDIBLY WELL DONE and the crowd they invited to this AAFP Performance Measures conference was of such high caliber intellect and rich experience it was hard not to be enticed into some good brain waves and excitement about what the Academy is after and what quality improvement efforts are possible I hope to translate some of this content into a practical and enticing November Practice Management conference for the residents now how s that for a challenge Caroline Day MD Division of Family Medicine Director Quality Staff Physician UCSD Sheri and Mike thanks once again for all your

    Original URL path: http://www.delfini.org/delfiniTestimonialsPerformanceMeasures.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Evidence Based Health Care: Delfini Testimonials
    Letters Recommendations DelfiniGram GET ON OUR UPDATE LIST State of California Administrative Law Judges concise and readily understandable the judges now have a new and valuable tool I can highly recommend the instruction you make available Ronald L Diedrich Director and Chief Administrative Law Judge Office of Administrative Hearings State of California 560 J Street STE 300 Sacramento CA 95814 Dear Dr Stuart and Ms Strite Thank you for the presentation you made on November 29 2004 to the California Office of Administrative Hearings administrative law judges on evidence based medicine It was very well received The information was provided in a concise and readily understandable manner The judges now have a new and valuable tool to assist them in appraising the medical evidence that is submitted in the hearings over which they preside I can highly recommend the instruction you make available through the Delfini Group I believe that your presentation on evidence based medicine would also be of great interest and use to other groups such as state agencies that license health care professionals both government and private attorneys who practice in the area of health care and those individuals who testify as medical experts CONTACT DELFINI Legal

    Original URL path: http://www.delfini.org/delfiniTestimonialsLegal.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Delfini Group: Bio Sheri Ann Strite
    Pharmacist 2011 Vol LVIII No 2 Spring 2011 54 57 Stuart ME Strite SA peer reviewers and guest eds Strite SA Stuart ME BMJ Rapid Response Attrition Bias Caution Non differential Loss Between Groups Can Threaten Validity BMJ 2011 http www bmj com content 341 bmj c7053 extract reply bmj el 247314 Link Strite SA Stuart ME Letter to the Editor How to Evaluate Medical Science The Atlantic January February 2011 Strite SA Stuart ME Importance of Blinding in Randomized Trials To the Editor JAMA 2010 Nov 17 304 19 2127 8 Pazirandeh M Stern C Treatment for Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus and Stable Ischemic Heart Disease evidence based medicine review California Pharmacist 2010 Vol LVII No 1 Winter 2010 46 49 Stuart ME Strite SA peer reviewers and guest eds PDF Note PDF says Winter 2009 but this is a misprint should read Winter 2010 Stuart ME Strite SA Washington State Health Care Technology Assessment Breast MRI In Diagnosis and Treatment of Cancer in Women at High Risk Systematic Review July 23 2010 Liu T Stern C The Platelet Inhibition and Patient Outcomes PLATO Trial evidence based medicine review California Pharmacist 2010 Vol LVII No 2 Spring 2010 46 48 Stuart ME Strite SA peer reviewers and guest eds PDF Juneja R Stuart ME Strite SA Intensive Insulin Therapy for The Treatment of Hyperglycemia in Critically Ill Adults A Qualitative Systematic Review and Critical Appraisal of the Evidence Selected for Poster Presentation at the American Diabetes Association s 70th Scientific Sessions June 25 29 2010 Link Strite SA Stuart ME Getting Started with Critical Appraisal of Medical Literature It Is Easier Than You Think California Pharmacist 2009 Vol LVI No 4 Fall 2009 52 55 Online Chan M Fong P Stern C Chloramphenicol Wound Infection Prophylaxis evidence based medicine review California Pharmacist 2009 Vol LVI No 4 Fall 2009 56 58 Stuart ME Strite SA peer reviewers and guest eds Online Strite SA Stuart ME BMJ Rapid Response Re Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta Analyses The PRISMA Statement response to David Moher Alessandro Liberati Jennifer Tetzlaff Douglas G Altman for the PRISMA Group Preferred reporting items for systematic reviews and meta analyses the PRISMA statement BMJ 2009 339 b2535 Online Stuart ME Strite SA BMJ Rapid Response Re The role of specialists information systems and an evidence based approach in managing the health of populations with chronic illness response to Lee B Practice BMJ 2009 339 b2395 Online Salman G Tran K Chan S Stern C Jupiter Trial evidence based medicine review California Pharmacist 2009 Vol LVI No 2 Spring 2009 54 55 Stuart ME Strite SA peer reviewers and guest eds PDF Carrillo M Preechakul R Stern C A Randomized Double Blind Placebo Controlled Phase III Trial of Pregabalin in the Treatment of Patients with Fibromyalgia evidence based medicine review California Pharmacist 2009 Lol LVI No 1 Winter 2009 52 53 Stuart ME Strite SA peer reviewers and guest eds PDF Patel S Strite SA Stuart ME Stern C ADVANCE Trial evidence based medicine review California Pharmacist 2008 Vol LV No 4 Fall 2008 58 61 PDF Stuart ME Strite SA Washington State Health Care Technology Assessment Evidence Report Arthroscopic Surgery of the Knee for Osteoarthritis Systematic Review July 18 Link Strite SA Stuart ME An Introduction to Systematic Reviews The Lifeblood of Medical Decision making California Pharmacist 2008 Vol LV No 3 Summer 2008 52 56 PDF Ericksen J Strite SA Stuart ME Stern C CATIE Trial Review of Phases 1 and 2 evidence based medicine review California Pharmacist 2008 Vol LV No 3 Summer 2008 52 56 PDF Strite SA Stuart ME Urban S Process steps and suggestions for creating drug monographs and drug class reviews in an evidence based formulary system Formulary April 2008 43 135 145 Nguyen K Equinozio C Stern C Esprit Trial evidence based medicine review California Pharmacist 2008 Vol LV No 1 Winter 2008 30 31 Stuart ME Strite SA peer reviewers and guest eds Online Chiquette E Posey LM Evidence based Pharmacotherapy American Pharmacists Association APhA Publications 1 edition January 15 2007 ISBN 10 1582120684 ISBN 13 978 1582120683 Strite SA Stuart ME contributing authors Chapter 7 Applying Evidence Based Pharmacotherapy to Formulary Decisions Stuart M Strite SA 2005 Jan 30 Pitfalls to Performance Measurement Modern Healthcare http www delfini org Showcase Publication PerformanceMeasures htm mhc article Originally published 2006 Jan 23 Accessed 2006 Jan 30 See also related white papers Delfini White Paper Evidence based Performance Measurement Validity Issues Avoiding Important Pitfalls Long Version Recommended PDF and Short Version PDF Stuart ME Strite SA Radical Prostatectomy versus Watchful Waiting Letter to the Editor Re Bill Axelson A Holmberg L Ruutu M et al Radical Prostatectomy versus watchful waiting in early prostate cancer N Engl J Med 2005 352 1977 84 N Engl J Med 2005 353 12 1298 Stuart ME Strite SA British Medical Journal Rapid Response Steroids Not Proven in Bell s Palsy The Legacy of Bad Science response to Piercy J Primary Care Bell s Palsy BMJ 2005 330 1374 11 June Online Strite S Stuart ME Closing Quality and Value Gaps Part 3 The Physician Executive Journal of Medical Management May June 2005 58 61 PDF Series Online Strite S Stuart ME Finding Gaps in Quality and Value Part 2 The Physician Executive Journal of Medical Management Mar Apr 2005 50 54 PDF Stuart ME Strite SA Bell s Palsy Letter to the Editor Re Gilden D Bell s Palsy N Engl J Med 2004 351 1323 31 N Engl J Med 2005 352 4 416 418 Strite S Stuart ME What is an Evidence Based Value Based Health Care System Part 1 The Physician Executive Journal of Medical Management Jan Feb 2005 50 54 PDF Strite SA Stuart ME Response to Proposal for Strength of the Evidence Taxonomy SORT Letter to the Editors American Family Physician December 15 2004 Vol 70 No 12 2268 Online Strite SA Stuart ME Response to Making

    Original URL path: http://www.delfini.org/delfiniBioStuart.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Delfini
    Tools Free Online Tutorial Delfini Blog Delfini Click Evidence Quality Improvement Commentaries Follow Share Just in time Updates Like Us Find Us DelfiniGram GET ON OUR UPDATE LIST Formal Inception September 2009 Updated December 30 2009 Qualitative Systematic Review Protocol Process Documentation in Brief Corresponding Author Rattan Juneja MBBS MD MRCP Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine Indiana University School of Medicine 541 Clinical Drive CL 365 Indianapolis IN 46202 USA Email rajuneja iupui edu Tel 317 2747725 Fax 317 2744311 Authors and Contributors Rattan Juneja MBBS MD MRCP conception review design references data interpretation writing final responsibility for submission Michael E Stuart MD conception review design literature search quality assessment of individual trials references data interpretation writing final responsibility for submission Sheri A Strite review design quality assessment of individual trials references writing final responsibility for submission CONTACT DELFINI At IIT Project Read Our Blog Menu Use of our website implies agreement to our Notices Citations for references available upon request Home What s New Blog Seminars Services Delfini Group Publishing Resources Resources Sample Projects Notices About Us Our Work Testimonials Other Site Search Contact Info Updates Quick Navigator to Selected Resources Tools Educational Library The Healthcare Information Problem Tutorials

    Original URL path: http://www.delfini.org/page_Systematic_Review_Intensive-Insulin-Therapy_ICU.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Delfini Program: Critical Appraisal Intensive Sample
    group this was It was incredible to engage with them at such a high level We would place them as among the best doing this work we have seen Special thanks to visionary Kate Flanagan Helmes who strives for the best for patients and her staff to EBM coach extraordinare Teresa Benson and master at making things happen Suzanne King Past In September 2006 an EBM post test was again conducted This was over six months since the 2006 training intensive As a group staff scored an impressive 94 7 a solid A performance This serves both as a testament to the fact that EBM training can work plus it speaks to the incredible dedication of the McKesson staff to an evidence based process Refreshers and more in depth training are being planned by the McKesson EBM team March 2007 Decision support can enhance patient care use of research based guidelines will complement addiction professionals decision making Feature From Addiction Professional Date 3 1 2007 Author Dubiel Lollie To access copy the following into an internet search engine http www encyclopedia com doc 1G1 162172292 html At McKesson CA Intensive Read Our Blog Menu Use of our website implies agreement to our Notices Citations for references available upon request Home What s New Blog Seminars Services Delfini Group Publishing Resources Sample Projects Notices About Us Our Work Testimonials Other Site Search Contact Info Updates Quick Navigator to Selected Resources Tools Educational Library The Healthcare Information Problem Tutorials DelfiniClick commentaries On the Same Page patient decision support Evidence Messaging Scripts Delfini Publications Medical Leader Interviews Glossary Recommended Reading Recommended Web Links Delfini Critical Appraisal Flier Get DelfiniGram Updates PRESS RELEASE Contact Marian Mostovy McKesson Health Solutions 617 273 2859 McKesson Solidifies InterQual Criteria s Leadership with Major Quality Milestones Delfini Training Raises Evidence Based Medical Content Standards More Than 800 Clinical Experts Add Real World Expertise to Development Process NEWTON Mass July 27 2006 McKesson Corporation the world s leading healthcare services company and largest provider of clinical decision support solutions has achieved two major quality milestones with its InterQual Criteria making the InterQual solutions suite the unchallenged leader in evidence based clinical knowledge resources McKesson further enhanced its time tested InterQual development methodology with comprehensive training by the Delfini Group on the critical appraisal of evidence based clinical information In addition the national panel of practicing clinical consultants for InterQual now totals more than 800 The Delfini Group consists of world renowned experts in the concepts methods and skills of evidence based clinical improvement to achieve better outcomes and additional value in clinical care According to Michael Stuart M D Delfini president putting evidence based medicine into practice is challenging not only because of the volume of scientific articles published each year about 40 000 per month but also Delfini Group s experience reveals that about 90 percent of those articles are either invalid or do not have clinically useful outcomes A critical first step in developing evidence based medical

    Original URL path: http://www.delfini.org/Showcase_Project_McKesson.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Delfini Program Example: KP Hawaii
    Please join us for some of the best training in evidence and value based medicine you will ever receive More Information Agenda l Faculty l Accreditation l Testimonials Cost l Registration l Location Audience The conference is designed to serve many interests with special training options Medical leaders pharmacy leaders administrators Physicians clinical pharmacists and other health care professionals such as nurses nutritionists EBM committee participants content developers such as health educators and more Quality leaders and staff EBM working group leaders members and staff such as Pharmacy Therapeutics and Medical Technology Assessment staff and committee members Agenda Kaiser Permanente Hawaii Evidence based Medicine Conference The Essentials Talk Story Talk Evidence Featuring Delfini Group Kaiser Permanente Hawaii Guideline Team Representatives Wailea Marriott Resort Maui Hawaii November 6 9 2006 November 6th Special Session 1 Momi Pearls Enhancing Quality through Performance Measurement Pay for Performance The Pearls 8 00 AM 8 15 AM Introduction to the Conference 8 15 AM 8 45 AM Introduction to Evidence based Medicine the Evidence based Organization 8 45 AM 9 50 AM Pearls on Performance Measurement Essentials 9 50 AM 10 20 AM Skill building Exercises Mini exercises on Measure Validity 10 20 AM 10 30 AM break 10 30 AM 11 00 AM Exercise Creating a Performance Measure 11 00 AM 11 30 AM Finding Seed Measures 11 30 AM 11 35 AM stretch 11 35 AM 12 20 PM Money in the Palm or Trouble in Paradise Pay for Performance Essentials 12 20 PM 1 00 PM Avoiding Pitfalls Directing Attention to Quality Or How Not to Get Torched by Your Docs and Actually Improve Care 1 00 PM 1 30 PM Group Consult November 7th Conference Day 1 Moku Islands Islands of Information Simplified Techniques for Finding and Evaluating Useful Clinical Information 8 00 AM 8 15 AM Introduction to the Conference 8 15 AM 8 30 AM Introduction to Evidence based Medicine A Port in the Storm 8 30 AM 10 00 AM Tips for Rapidly Appraising Information for Truth and Believability 10 00 AM 10 10 AM break 10 10 AM 10 30 AM Tips for Rapidly Appraising Information for Usefulness 10 30 AM 11 30 AM Exercises in Critical Appraisal 11 30 AM 11 35 AM stretch 11 35 AM 12 05 PM Systematic Reviews Secondary Sources 12 05 PM 12 30 PM Illustrations Case Studies 12 30 PM 1 15 PM Information Overload and Islands of Sanity Searching Strategies Quality Sources for Information 1 15 PM 1 30 PM Group Consult November 8th Conference Day 2 L o kahi Unity Harmony Topics in the Tropics Evidence based QI Improvement Project Strategies and Examples 8 00 AM 8 15 AM Introduction to the Day 8 15 AM 9 15 AM How to Choose or Adapt Clinical Practice Guidelines 9 15 AM 10 00 AM Showcase The KP Nephrology EBM Guideline Project Processes Read more about the project here 10 00 AM 10 10 AM break 10 10 AM 10 55 AM Showcase The KP Nephrology EBM Guideline Project Outcomes 10 55 AM 11 55 AM Synthesizing Evidence Creating Clinical Recommendations 11 55 AM 12 00 PM stretch 12 00 PM 1 00 PM Implementation Strategies 1 00 PM 1 30 PM Group Consult November 9th Special Session 2 Laulima Many Hands Working Together Treasure Trove of Tips for EBM Committees Focus Pharmacy Therapeutics Committees and Medical Technology Assessment Committees 8 00 AM 8 15 AM Introduction to the Day 8 15 AM 9 00 AM Committee Basics 9 00 AM 10 00 AM Pitfalls EBM Committees Commonly Fall Into and How to Avoid Them 10 00 AM 10 10 AM break 10 10 AM 10 55 AM Treasures for Committee Members How to prepare and package information for EBM meetings and make your members happy 10 55 AM 11 40 AM Treasures for Committee Staffers Prepping and pre work advice for happier meeting 11 40 AM 11 45 AM stretch 11 45 AM 12 30 PM Treasures for Committee Leaders How to optimize committee functioning and lead to successful outcomes 12 30 PM 1 00 PM Evidence versus judgment how to apply both correctly in achieving value 1 00 PM 1 30 PM Group Consult Imi ola To seek life in its highest possible form This is our makana gift to you E pili kakou we invite you to come join us to Talk Evidence Talk Story Come wala au Accreditation CME and CE accreditation CME The Kaiser Foundation Hospital is accredited by the Hawaii Medical Association to provide continuing medical education for physicians The Kaiser Foundation Hospital designates this educational activity for a maximum of 20 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit s Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity It is the policy of the Kaiser Foundation Hospital to ensure balance independence objectivity and scientific rigor in all educational activities Individuals who may influence content must disclose all relevant financial relationships with any commercial interest Should it be determined that a conflict of interest exists as a result of a financial relationship disclosed the conflict of interest must be resolved prior to the activity CE The Hawaii Pharmacists Association is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education as a provider of continuing pharmacy education Participants will be able to obtain up to 1 950CEUs 19 50contact hours of continuing pharmacy education for UPN 168 999 06 010 L04 Statements of credit will be issued based on proof of attendance and completion of program evaluation form and forwarded to participants within 30 45 days of receipt of completed documentation Cost Choose whichever days you like Special discounts for 3 and 4 conference day selections Early Dolphin discount if you register before October 23 2006 For more details download the brochure Location For reservations call the Marriott directly 1 888 797 1913 Wailea Marriott Resort 3700 Wailea Ala Nui Wailea Hawaii 96753 On the Island of Maui E komo mai Enter

    Original URL path: http://www.delfini.org/Showcase_Program_KaiserPermanenteHawaii_EBMConf.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Delfini Clients & Others Served
    Centers for Medicare Medicaid Services Clinical Pharmacy Services Shrewsbury MA CommonHealth Solara Department of Defense various medical centers for Army and Airforce DoD Pharmacoeconomic Center and including work Mike Stuart has done for Bureau of Medicine Navy Evergreen Healthcare Kirkland WA Eurasiahealth org Express Scripts Genentech GlaxoSmithKline Group Health Cooperative Seattle WA Guidelines International Network Health Alliance Plan Henry Ford System Detroit MI Health Care Partners CA Health New England Providence RI Healthwise Humana Idaho Academy of Family Physicians Inland Empire Health Plan San Bernadino CA Intermountain Health Care Salt Lake City UT Kaiser Permanente various centers such as Southern California and Hawaii Keesler Air Force Medical Center Kindred Health Care King County Health Care Task Force Seattle WA LA Care Health Plan Los Angeles CA McKesson InterQual MD Anderson Cancer Center MedMetrics Shrewsbury MA Medtronic Inc Merck Montefiore Health System Moody Air Force Base Medical Center NBBJ global architecture and design firm Nellis Air Force Base Medical Center Northwest Pharmacy Benefits Group Novartis NeuroSciences Group Boise ID New Zealand Guidelines Group New Zealand Health Technology Assessment New Zealand Cochrane Group Northwest Community Hospital Arlington Heights IL ODS Portland OR Omnicare various centers and national groups PacifiCare CA PacifiCare WA Parkview Health System Fort Wayne IN Premera Pfizer Providence Health System Portland OR Qualis Health Queens Long Island Medical Group PC NY Rainier Institute Seattle WA Regence Group Multi state based out of Portland OR Salem Health System Hospital Sanofi Aventis SCAN Health Plan CA Shropshire County Primary Care Trust NHS England State of Alaska State of California Department of Health Care Services Sacramento CA State of California Medi Cal Pharmacy Benefits Division Sacramento CA State of California Medical Board through UCSD PACE Program State of Oregon Health Resources Commission State of Washington Department of Social and Health Services DSHS

    Original URL path: http://www.delfini.org/delfiniServed.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive