archive-org.com » ORG » M » MERLYNSPEN.ORG

Total: 210

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Review a Work from the Library
    is selected for publication on the site but many are Give it a shot Unlike submissions to Merlyn s Pen reviews are not responded to unless selected for publication Submit a Review You Write You Read You Succeed You Teach The Magazine About Us Store 2016 Merlyn s Pen Inc Your Privacy Legal Website created by Newfangled Web Factory Submit Your Writing Track Your Submission Submit Your Revision Programs Camps

    Original URL path: http://www.merlynspen.org/teach/review.php (2016-04-24)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Merlyn's Pen Store
    s Teens Code Available at Amazon Price 14 95 9 95 each for 20 or more Merlyn s Pen Volume I Fiction Essays and Poems by America s Teens Code Available at Amazon Price 14 95 9 95 each for 20 or more Many stories and essays in the New Library address childhood school and friendship Search for those works in the Topic category You Write You Read You Succeed

    Original URL path: http://www.merlynspen.org/store/ (2016-04-24)
    Open archived version from archive

  • 1000+ Writing Models
    plays Each one of the highest quality because each was published in Merlyn s Pen magazine For a limited time the New Library is entirely free Enter the Library You Write You Read You Succeed You Teach The Magazine About Us Store 2016 Merlyn s Pen Inc Your Privacy Legal Website created by Newfangled Web Factory Submit Your Writing Track Your Submission Submit Your Revision Programs Camps Schools Watch Editors

    Original URL path: http://www.merlynspen.org/teach/models.php (2016-04-24)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Merlyn's Pen Mission
    a little brother Most submissions I had to reject but published or not each one received a personal response from my talented staff or from me From our Main Street office in East Greenwich Rhode Island we published the best submissions in a magazine Merlyn s Pen that we shipped all across the world My experience taught me to listen to young people Publishing young writers sent a message of hope to creative kids who felt their talents were trivial or unwanted Their creativity mattered to me Even the briefest submissions could floor me One 8th grader for instance wrote a poem called Religion On the sixth day it said He got up and sprayed people from an aerosol can and then God threw away the exhausted container Such provocation in seven lines Is creating humanity as casual as spraying air freshener in a guest room Does that exhausted container mean that the creative act fatigues even all powerful God In hundreds of classrooms that read this poem discussions took off all of them launched by the measured words of one creative teen Publishing kids I saw that the brightest ones teach their peers and their teachers That s why I believe in urging more teen involvement in our civic and volunteer organizations in our schools places of worship and government We need the brightest ideas from kids their originality their view of the world and their view of us the adults in charge Creative teens have already shaped Western culture Writers who helped define the American character Edgar Allan Poe Sylvia Plath Langston Hughes among them were publishing as teens A young Mozart composed melodies we still hum today When Frankenstein took his first arthritic step into our imaginations how old was his creator Mary Shelley About 16 So how much higher could America soar if input from creative kids was built into the plan I believe much higher Maybe schools can take the first step They can become places where innovative creative kids feel as safe as wanted and as celebrated as their home run hitting touchdown scoring peers in athletics Independent schools have the liberty to lead the way Others may follow I believe in getting creative kids to the table now to solve our biggest problems We can use the help Why Study American Teen Writers By R James Stahl Merlyn s Pen Founder When multiculturalism opened the school door to more women writers more African American Hispanic and Native American writers an unexpected bird flew in too Common and small as ubiquitous as the sparrow this bird s song caught everyone by surprise Fresh Real Accessible Students responded to it Teachers noticed their interest Why had no one heard it before The compelling narrative voice of America s teenage authors took all of us by surprise Writing so new and so unexpectedly articulate it made the feature pages of The New York Times The Washington Post The Christian Science Monitor and all the important journals

    Original URL path: http://www.merlynspen.org/us/mission.php (2016-04-24)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Our Sponsors
    at 401 751 3766 Or e mail merlyn merlynspen org You Write You Read You Succeed You Teach The Magazine About Us Store 2016 Merlyn s Pen Inc Your Privacy Legal Website created by Newfangled Web Factory Submit Your Writing Track Your Submission Submit Your Revision Programs Camps Schools Watch Editors Work Featured Writers Contests Enter the Library My Library Special Collections Programs Camps Universities Schools Tips Tools for Writers

    Original URL path: http://www.merlynspen.org/us/sponsors.php (2016-04-24)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Our Editors
    stories poems and essays many with teacher lesson plans for secondary classrooms He also created and curated The American Teen Writer Series award winning anthologies of teen writing that are used in classrooms in nine countries and have earned translation into Chinese With more than 100 000 copies in print books in the The American Teen Writer Series were nominated to Best Books for Young Adults ALA and Books for the Teen Age New York Public Library Stahl co created and produced the school touring show Stories on Stage and collaborating with Diane Postoian Some Lady on YouTube an experimental series of PSA s on topics relevant to teens and based upon Postoian s lifelong work with kids Stahl created the popular summer program Down to the Sea with Paper and Pen each summer it takes literary teens out to sea for a week of writing and adventure on a tall ship Stahl s autobiographical stories which he began performing at age 53 laid the groundwork for his stage play Monocular Man His performance monologues took First Place in the Greater Boston All Star Story Slam 2010 and Best Storyteller and Audience Favorite at the First Person Festival of Memoir and Documentary Art Philadelphia 2011 Stahl was asked to represent New England in the National Story Slam Chicago 2011 He has performed his original monologues at the National Storytelling Festival 2015 Manhattan s Strawberry One Act Play Festival 2015 the Providence Fringe Festival 2014 the New York International Fringe Festival 2013 and Rhode Island s venerable Trinity Rep Theatre 2013 His 2014 animated film Monocular Man My Eye Saturn V co created with director and neon filmmaker Jack Feldstein took Jury and Audience Choice awards at the Providence Children s Film Festival 2015 and the Online New England Film Festival

    Original URL path: http://www.merlynspen.org/us/editors.php (2016-04-24)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Newsletter
    Serendipity I was web browsing The reason is not listed here Indicates a required field You Write You Read You Succeed You Teach The Magazine About Us Store 2016 Merlyn s Pen Inc Your Privacy Legal Website created by Newfangled Web Factory Submit Your Writing Track Your Submission Submit Your Revision Programs Camps Schools Watch Editors Work Featured Writers Contests Enter the Library My Library Special Collections Programs Camps Universities

    Original URL path: http://www.merlynspen.org/us/newsletter.php (2016-04-24)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Press
    the English Journal Structured specifically for classroom use and offering ample teacher support this magazine presents students with success oriented reading and writing experiences You Write You Read You Succeed You Teach The Magazine About Us Store 2016 Merlyn s Pen Inc Your Privacy Legal Website created by Newfangled Web Factory Submit Your Writing Track Your Submission Submit Your Revision Programs Camps Schools Watch Editors Work Featured Writers Contests Enter

    Original URL path: http://www.merlynspen.org/us/press.php (2016-04-24)
    Open archived version from archive



  •