archive-org.com » ORG » M » MOHONASEN.ORG

Total: 574

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • School District Budgets: Glossary of Terms | Mohonasen Central School District, Rotterdam, NY
    Once a contingent budget is established community residents are no longer allowed to petition boards of education to put additional items up for a separate vote Employee benefits Amounts paid by the district on behalf of employees These amounts are not included in the gross salary They are fringe benefits and while not paid directly to employees are part of the cost of operating the school district Employee benefits include the district cost for health insurance premiums dental insurance life and disability insurance Medicare retirement social security and tuition reimbursement Equalization rate In simple terms an equalization rate represents the average level of assessment in each community For example an equalization rate of 80 means that on average the property in a community is being assessed at 80 of its market value The words on average are stressed to emphasize that that an equalization rate of 80 does not mean that each and every property is assessed at 80 of full value Some may be assessed at lower than 80 while others may be assessed at higher than 80 Equalization rates are established by the New York State Board of Equalization and Assessment School districts that comprise more than one city town or village must use the equalization rate to determine the tax rates for each municipality The purpose is to bring some semblance of equity to how the taxes are distributed in any one school district so that ideally a home with a full market value of 100 000 in one community will pay the same taxes as a home with a market value of 100 000 in the next community regardless of how those two homes are assessed Expenditure Payment of cash or transfer of property or services for the purpose of acquiring an asset or service Fiscal Year A fiscal year is the accounting period on which a budget is based The New York State fiscal year runs from April 1 through March 31 The fiscal year for all New York counties and towns and for most cities is the calendar year School districts in the State operate on a July 1 through June 30 fiscal year Reserved Unreserved Fund Balance Reserved fund balance is the portion of fund balance set aside for specific purposes such as the Reserve for Encumbrances Reserve for Repairs or Tax Certiorari Reserve etc Each reserve fund has certain establishment and use requirements Unreserved fund balance is the residual amount of fund balance after all reserves have been taken into account Unreserved fund balance consists of appropriated designated fund balance and unappropriated undesignated fund balance Appropriated fund balance is the portion of unreserved fund balance that has been used to reduce taxes in the subsequent fiscal year Unappropriated fund balance is limited by Real Property Tax Law Section 1318 to an amount not to exceed 2 of the new year s budget Fundamental Operating Budget FOB The total amount of money required to pay for current year programs staffing and services at

    Original URL path: http://www.mohonasen.org/budget/glossary-of-terms/ (2016-02-17)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Budget History | Mohonasen Central School District, Rotterdam, NY
    purchase four full size 66 passenger buses Vote 922 voting in favor and 463 voting against BOE Election Two candidates elected Vote Dominic Cafarelli 1 088 and Bob Piccirillo 1 059 Required budget statement and other materials Financial Charts NYS School Report Card Budget Newsletter Budget Brochure 2012 2013 Vote Tuesday May 15 2012 Proposed budget 44 1 million Vote 1082 voting in favor and 589 voting against Spending Increase 2 75 percent Tax Levy Increase 2 278 percent Bus Proposition 290 000 proposition to purchase two full size 66 passenger buses and one 24 passenger wheelchair bus Vote 1056 voting in favor and 609 voting against BOE Election Three candidates elected Vote Stacy MacTurk 1226 Gary Spadaro 1346 and Tom Andriola 1240 Required budget statement and other materials Financial Charts NYS School Report Card Budget Newsletter Budget Brochure 2011 2012 Vote Tuesday May 17 2011 Proposed budget 42 9 million Vote 1272 voting in favor and 781 voting against Spending Increase 0 43 percent Tax Levy Increase 2 5 percent Bus Proposition 370 000 proposition to purchase three full size 66 passenger buses and one Suburban Vote 1175 voting in favor and 870 voting against BOE Election Two candidates elected Vote Nancy del Prado 1532 and Mark Moran 1582 Required budget statement and other materials Financial Charts NYS School Report Card Budget Newsletter Budget Brochure If you have any trouble accessing the documents linked from this page please contact the Communications Office at 356 8250 The FREE Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded here About Us Academics Athletics Board of Education Community Student Services Featured Budget Finance Breakfast Lunch Menus Calendar Contact News Staff Resources About Us Budget Finance Calendar Contact Directions Employment Forms News Notifications Policies Publications Registration Staff Resources Academics APPR Common Core Learning Standards Continuing Education

    Original URL path: http://www.mohonasen.org/budget/budget-history/ (2016-02-17)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Capital Construction Projects | Mohonasen Central School District, Rotterdam, NY
    will also be used for both credit bearing and workforce development adult education programs through Schenectady County Community College Transportation A new transportation facility will be constructed on the land purchased in 2010 near the Center for Advanced Technology This enables the district to receive state aid on the land purchase as well as the construction The new facility will include service bays and a bus wash helping to better maintain the bus fleet Existing Mohonasen schools The project includes funding for district wide instructional technology modernization including phone and computer network system upgrades and improvements to the projection systems Additional work planned for the four existing school buildings includes Mohonasen High School Classroom renovations to create modern science rooms that meet state requirements for size some of the current ones do not and allow for more hands on group projects Five classroom addition to make up for space lost during science room renovations Locker room addition athletic wing reconfiguration that makes the space more functional for athletes and spectators as well as meets federal Title IX requirements Stage renovations and sound system upgrades in the auditorium Conversion of the football field to synthetic turf to prolong the life of the field and better accommodate the needs of athletic teams and the marching band which would also make the field more attractive to potential outside athletic education organizations to generate rental income for the district and Some office space renovation as a result of the additions Draper Middle School Guidance and main office space renovations to offer greater privacy for students and utilize space more efficiently Updates and renovations to the cafeteria and surrounding bathrooms and Updates and renovations to the second floor special education rooms to make this space work better for teachers and students Pinewood Intermediate School Renovations to the psychology rooms and storage spaces to make these areas more functional Gymnasium renovations addition to create a larger meeting space for students and staff to gather indoors and create more space for physical education and Cafeteria addition to relieve congestion in the serving line and create more seating space Bradt Primary School Renovations to existing classrooms to create a multi purpose room for group learning and school events and Improvements to the school s entryway Building Condition Survey Items Every five years Mohonasen conducts a formal building audit which is submitted to the state to identify areas that require repair replacement or renovation based on health and safety needs This audit is updated annually on a more informal basis by the district s director of facilities These are items that will need to be addressed in one way or another in the coming years By including them in a capital project Mohonasen is eligible to receive state aid to assist in the cost The capital project outlined here includes 2 8 million in BCS items Mohonasen High School Upgrades to electric feed and switchboard which present a major safety issue and threaten electricity service to the building Sidewalk

    Original URL path: http://www.mohonasen.org/budget/capital-construction-projects/ (2016-02-17)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Employee Contracts | Mohonasen Central School District, Rotterdam, NY
    Standards Continuing Education Enrichment Extracurricular Offerings Grant Programs High School Course of Study Guide Report Cards Special Education Teacher Staff Pages Testing Athletics Hall of Fame FAQs Physicals Pool Schedules Teams Board of Education Meeting Minutes Meeting Schedules Agendas Members Community Alumni Continuing Education Pool School Booster Groups Mohonasen Foundation for Excellence Student Services Draper Middle School Guidance Food Services Health Services High School Counseling Career Center Safety Security Social

    Original URL path: http://www.mohonasen.org/employee-contracts/ (2016-02-17)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tax Exemptions | Mohonasen Central School District, Rotterdam, NY
    STAR program works because by taking advantage of it property owners can save hundreds of dollars a year on their school taxes Learn more the STAR program and download the necessary forms online Download STAR Fact Sheet Real Property Tax Exemption approved in February 2007 Residents over the age of 65 and qualifying residents of any age with disabilities who have an annual income of 35 400 or less can be exempted from paying 5 50 percent of their home s assessed value translating to a reduction in school taxes Applications must be filed with your town assessor s office and must be renewed annually Alternative Veterans Exemption approved in March 2014 Veterans who received an honorable discharge from service had active duty status during wartime Persian Gulf Conflict Vietnam War Korean War World War II for dates specified in law and or those receiving Expeditionary Medals or who qualify under the alternatives to period of war service may also qualify for this exemption Generally reservists are not eligible Certain family members of veterans may be eligible The exemption is limited to primary residence based on a percentage of assessed value subject to maximum levels of exemption 6 000 exemption for wartime service 10 000 exemption for combat zone service and 20 000 for service connected disability Applications must be filed with your town assessor s office Veterans with already approved exemptions on file with the town DO NOT need to apply for the school tax exemption For more information contact the assessor s office in your town Rotterdam 355 7575 ext 343 Colonie 783 2701 Guilderland 356 1980 About Us Academics Athletics Board of Education Community Student Services Featured Budget Finance Breakfast Lunch Menus Calendar Contact News Staff Resources About Us Budget Finance Calendar Contact Directions Employment Forms News

    Original URL path: http://www.mohonasen.org/budget/tax-exemptions/ (2016-02-17)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tax Rates | Mohonasen Central School District, Rotterdam, NY
    Budget Finance Calendar Contact Directions Employment Forms News Notifications Policies Publications Registration Staff Resources Academics APPR Common Core Learning Standards Continuing Education Enrichment Extracurricular Offerings Grant Programs High School Course of Study Guide Report Cards Special Education Teacher Staff Pages Testing Athletics Hall of Fame FAQs Physicals Pool Schedules Teams Board of Education Meeting Minutes Meeting Schedules Agendas Members Community Alumni Continuing Education Pool School Booster Groups Mohonasen Foundation for

    Original URL path: http://www.mohonasen.org/budget/tax-rates/ (2016-02-17)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Buildings | Mohonasen Central School District, Rotterdam, NY
    356 8434 School Hours 8 20 a m 2 50 p m Principal Deborah Kavanaugh dkavanaugh mohonasen org 518 356 8430 Assistant Principal Laurel Jones ljones mohonasen org 518 356 8430 School Nurse Carol Post cpost mohonasen org 518 356 8440 Guidance Counselor Amy Christopher achristopher mohonasen org 518 356 8449 Draper Middle School Grades 6 8 2070 Curry Road Schenectady NY 12303 Phone 518 356 8350 Fax 518 356 8359 School Hours 7 38 a m 2 10 p m Principal Debra Male dmale mohonasen org 518 356 8350 Assistant Principal Scott Hays shays mohonasen org 518 356 8351 School Nurse Jeannette Greklek jgreklek mohonasen org 518 356 8360 Draper Guidance Office 518 356 8371 Kyra Grimsley kgrimsley mohonasen org Angie Santabarbara asantabarbara mohonasen org Deborah Wood debwood mohonasen org Mohonasen High School Grades 9 12 2072 Curry Road Schenectady NY 12303 Phone 518 356 8300 Fax 518 356 8309 School Hours 7 38 a m 2 11 p m Principal Lisa Patierne lpatierne mohonasen org 518 356 8301 Assistant Principals Brian Shaffer bshaffer mohonasen org 518 356 8302 Timothy Hulihan thulihan mohonasen org 518 356 8302 Attendance 518 356 8315 School Nurse Jennifer Guy jguy mohonasen org 518 356 8310 School Resource Officer Mike Rumbaugh mrumbaugh mohonasen org 518 356 8214 Counseling and Career Center AKA Guidance 518 356 8322 Amy Huszar ahuszar mohonasen org Mary Lockwood mlockwood mohonasen org Rebecca Pauley rpauley mohonasen org Duane Wood woodd mohonasen org About Us Academics Athletics Board of Education Community Student Services Featured Budget Finance Breakfast Lunch Menus Calendar Contact News Staff Resources About Us Budget Finance Calendar Contact Directions Employment Forms News Notifications Policies Publications Registration Staff Resources Academics APPR Common Core Learning Standards Continuing Education Enrichment Extracurricular Offerings Grant Programs High School Course of Study Guide Report Cards

    Original URL path: http://www.mohonasen.org/contact/school-buildings/ (2016-02-17)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Central Administration and Other District Contacts | Mohonasen Central School District, Rotterdam, NY
    518 356 8345 Academic Administrator for Science and Technology Makensie Bullinger mbullinger mohonasen org 518 356 8254 Administrator on Special Assignment for APPR Diane McIver dmciver mohonasen org 518 356 8200 Aquatics Program Marc Vachon Supervisor mvachon mohonasen org 518 356 8240 Business Office Tracey Freemantle Supervisor TFreemantle mohonasen org 518 356 8235 Central Registrar Terrie Furbeck tfurbeck mohonasen org 518 356 8222 Communications Office Karen Nerney Coordinator knerney mohonasen org 518 356 8250 Continuing Education Department Patricia Hopkins Coordinator phopkins mohonasen org 518 356 8303 Operations Facilities Joe Mayo Director jmayo mohonasen org 518 356 8228 Physical Education Health and Athletics Matthew Stein Director mstein mohonasen org 518 356 8270 School Safety and Security Jeffrey Jackson Director jejackson mohonasen org 518 356 8355 Special and Alternative Education Karla Empie Director kempie mohonasen org 518 356 8221 Technology Services James Dilbone Director jdilbone mohonasen org 518 356 8341 Theatre and Drama Kathleen Derochie Director kderochie mohonasen org 518 356 8300 Facilitator of Performance Arts K 12 Kim Kondenar kkondenar mohonasen org 518 356 8280 Food Service Program Kimberly Gagnon Supervisor kgagnon mohonasen org 518 356 8225 Records Access Officer Tracey Freemantle tfreemantle mohonasen org 518 356 8235 Freedom of Information Law requests FOIL Transportation Department 2090 Heldeberg Ave Schenectady NY 12306 Randy Jerreld Supervisor rjerreld mohonasen org 518 356 8260 Weather Related Closings and Delays How we communicate weather related announcements About Us Academics Athletics Board of Education Community Student Services Featured Budget Finance Breakfast Lunch Menus Calendar Contact News Staff Resources About Us Budget Finance Calendar Contact Directions Employment Forms News Notifications Policies Publications Registration Staff Resources Academics APPR Common Core Learning Standards Continuing Education Enrichment Extracurricular Offerings Grant Programs High School Course of Study Guide Report Cards Special Education Teacher Staff Pages Testing Athletics Hall of Fame FAQs

    Original URL path: http://www.mohonasen.org/contact/district-contacts/ (2016-02-17)
    Open archived version from archive



  •