archive-org.com » ORG » N » NCMUG.ORG

Total: 166

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • SV600 ScanSnap review by Amanda Pearson « NCMUG
    am also stubborn When I find something that works why change it For example I own a compact ScanSnap S1300 desktop scanner since replaced by the S1300i and absolutely love it I use it everyday for various paper organizational needs But I am a designer who also works in a colorful three dimensional world I can t tell you how many times I ve wanted to stick a cool art book into my scanner to capture its inspiring visual brilliance For the full review please visit http scansnapcommunity com features 10469 scansnap squad review scansnap sv600 contactless scanner Posted in Reviews Leave a Comment 0 Categories Announcements 41 General Meetings 34 HomePost 33 News 13 Reviews 10 Special Events 4 Special Interest Groups 5 Post Tags accessories Adobe back up Book Review cartridegs case Creativity Dan Frakes Dropbox Elgato Fujitsu Grace Cheung Schulman Human race IDG Internet iOS7 iPad iPads iPhone iPhones iPod IT Jason Snell Macs Macworld Mavericks NCMUG NUGuard Operational Goals Pages paperless Phishing Photography recycle Scan Snap scholarship winner Security Shrink RapRadio com SIG sustainable Ted Landau Twitter volunteer Wayne Till Yosemite Volunteer at NCMUG Volunteers are the life force of any nonprofit organization including NCMUG Our

    Original URL path: http://www.ncmug.org/sv600-scansnap-review-by-amanda-pearson/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Product review: PDFpenPro for Mac version 6.0.4 « NCMUG
    My workaround for this has been to 1 enter all financial details into QuickBooks for record keeping and then 2 recreate the invoices in InDesign for those customized details I realized I was doubling my work but willing to sacrifice time for a better client experience with my documents Well no more Solution PDFpenPro by Smile Software Can I say that I love this program more than some of my relatives shhh With PDFpenPro s library of graphics I can now save my signature in my favorite purple color as well as my branded Okini graphics to tag onto any PDF document I can also save groups of text boxes to update payment or deposit details for each project And shall we start dancing down the path of other things PDFpenPro can do 1 Customize those W2 forms that clients inevitably need during tax season 2 Replace text in original PDF with editable text blocks 3 Move resize copy and delete images in original PDF 4 Perform Optical Character Recognition OCR on scanned documents 5 Converts websites into multi page PDF documents an option with Pro version only 6 Insert and remove pages re order pages in a PDF by drag and drop 7 Markup documents with highlighting underscoring and strike through 8 Available in English Spanish Japanese German French and Italian 9 If you sign up on their email list they will provide FREE wonderful tips to make it even easier to use their program Bottom Line PDFpenPro by Smile Software is amazing For such a powerful program it is so easy to use and makes me feel like I finally know what I m doing Stop wasting your time with cutting and pasting or other workarounds This is a no brainer and total win You won t be

    Original URL path: http://www.ncmug.org/product-review-pdfpenpro-for-mac-version-6-0-4/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Review: NuGuard KX Protective Case for iPhone 5 & 4/4s « NCMUG
    the screen the first week I got it When I was down at Macworld I visited the OWC booth and discovered a case that was perfect for me It s called the NuGuard KX by Newer Technology and is mil spec drop certified NuGuard KX is lightweight comes in eight colors I chose red so it is easy to find and is easy to install and remove What I m most impressed by is the case which is soft flexible and has the X Orbiting gel technology which evenly distributes impact energy which protects your iPhone if dropped If you re looking for a great case for your iPhone I would highly recommend the NuGuard KX Protective Case for iPhone You can purchase the NuGuard RX from OWC at http bit ly 16Ai3D2 Tags accessories case iPhone Macworld NUGuard Posted in Reviews Leave a Comment 0 Categories Announcements 41 General Meetings 34 HomePost 33 News 13 Reviews 10 Special Events 4 Special Interest Groups 5 Post Tags accessories Adobe back up Book Review cartridegs case Creativity Dan Frakes Dropbox Elgato Fujitsu Grace Cheung Schulman Human race IDG Internet iOS7 iPad iPads iPhone iPhones iPod IT Jason Snell Macs Macworld Mavericks

    Original URL path: http://www.ncmug.org/review-nuguard-kx-protective-case-for-iphone-5-44s/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Elgato EyeTV review « NCMUG
    took about 4 hours to fully charge You get a USB cable to connect to a power source when not connected to the iPad or iPhone like a computer A red light indicates low power and green a full charge Once fully charged it can last beyond 12 hours New dock connectors may need a Lighting to 30 pin adapter Elgato s EyeTV Mobile plugs into your dock connector to provide over the air access to TV stations The moment you connect the EyeTV Mobile to your iPad or iPhone it connects to the App Store to download the free app Once the app installation is finished position the antenna open the app and follow the instructions The scanned channels in Bala Cynwyd PA were WCAU and WTFX Fox The picture came in very clearly Adjustments are available for pause and resume live TV close captioning and small screen to large screen view The second time I scanned for channels I got three the same two mentioned already plus ei qubo but the resolution was blurry and the sound choppy It was more of a kid s channel I had a cable black out for a day and the EyeTV Mobile came in handy at least to watch the news on the limited two scanned channels I have been a fan of Elgato products for many years I can t justify the price of this product for just three channels of TV viewing however Pros You don t need the Internet Cons It eats your battery and your data allowance quite rapidly Needs PIP Limited scanned TV channels Maria O Arguello has been a long time member of NCMUG and an Apple evangelista She enjoys teaching new technology swimming fine dining family friends and her Mac addiction Tags Elgato iPad

    Original URL path: http://www.ncmug.org/elgato-eyetv-review/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Internet, Security, Phishing… OH MY! « NCMUG
    media and online banking As a bonus he will cover ways to set up simple security measures like choosing a strong password and making sure you are on a secure connection when accessing important information Additionally he will also speak about some of the less desirable parts of the internet like scammers phishing and hackers North Coast Mac Users Group General Meeting Tuesday March 17 2015 Rohnert Park Senior Center 6800 Hunter Drive Rohnert Park CA 94928 7 00 9 00 p m Tags Internet Phishing Security Posted in Announcements General Meetings HomePost Leave a Comment 0 Categories Announcements 41 General Meetings 34 HomePost 33 News 13 Reviews 10 Special Events 4 Special Interest Groups 5 Post Tags accessories Adobe back up Book Review cartridegs case Creativity Dan Frakes Dropbox Elgato Fujitsu Grace Cheung Schulman Human race IDG Internet iOS7 iPad iPads iPhone iPhones iPod IT Jason Snell Macs Macworld Mavericks NCMUG NUGuard Operational Goals Pages paperless Phishing Photography recycle Scan Snap scholarship winner Security Shrink RapRadio com SIG sustainable Ted Landau Twitter volunteer Wayne Till Yosemite Volunteer at NCMUG Volunteers are the life force of any nonprofit organization including NCMUG Our team of dedicated Apple users who volunteer their

    Original URL path: http://www.ncmug.org/internet-security-phishing-oh-my/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • February 17th General Meeting: “Stump the Geeks” « NCMUG
    and let the other members help find a solution to your problem Don t have a question then bring yourself maybe you can help another member Members helping members is one of the best things about NCMUG so come and take part Rohnert Park Senior Center 6800 Hunter Drive Rohnert Park CA 94928 7 00 9 00 p m Posted in Announcements General Meetings HomePost Leave a Comment 0 Categories Announcements 41 General Meetings 34 HomePost 33 News 13 Reviews 10 Special Events 4 Special Interest Groups 5 Post Tags accessories Adobe back up Book Review cartridegs case Creativity Dan Frakes Dropbox Elgato Fujitsu Grace Cheung Schulman Human race IDG Internet iOS7 iPad iPads iPhone iPhones iPod IT Jason Snell Macs Macworld Mavericks NCMUG NUGuard Operational Goals Pages paperless Phishing Photography recycle Scan Snap scholarship winner Security Shrink RapRadio com SIG sustainable Ted Landau Twitter volunteer Wayne Till Yosemite Volunteer at NCMUG Volunteers are the life force of any nonprofit organization including NCMUG Our team of dedicated Apple users who volunteer their talent and time help provide essential support to sustain programs and activities that make NCMUG a successful organization Volunteering is also a great way to meet new people

    Original URL path: http://www.ncmug.org/february-17th-general-meeting-stump-the-geeks/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • January 20th General Meeting: All About SIGs « NCMUG
    Events 4 Special Interest Groups 5 Post Tags accessories Adobe back up Book Review cartridegs case Creativity Dan Frakes Dropbox Elgato Fujitsu Grace Cheung Schulman Human race IDG Internet iOS7 iPad iPads iPhone iPhones iPod IT Jason Snell Macs Macworld Mavericks NCMUG NUGuard Operational Goals Pages paperless Phishing Photography recycle Scan Snap scholarship winner Security Shrink RapRadio com SIG sustainable Ted Landau Twitter volunteer Wayne Till Yosemite Volunteer at NCMUG

    Original URL path: http://www.ncmug.org/january-20th-general-meeting-all-about-sigs/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Announcements « NCMUG
    new devices have been developed many user groups have changed or disappeared Over the last few years you may not have realized some things that have happened to NCMUG Postage rates and printing costs increased and the paper newsletter went away No one wanted to edit an electronic newsletter and it went away Due to increasing costs and lack of volunteers to stage MCE it went away Since we were taking in less than 20 00 in raffle money some months and we were receiving very few vendor donations and still had to make monthly reports to the State of California the raffle went away Members were not buying books even at our discounted prices so book sales went away We should have as many as 15 on the Board of Directors and for the last two years despite requests for members to step up and join us we have been operating with 8 and we are approaching burn out Our memberships dropped by 70 from 384 to 314 in the last 16 months The total loss was even greater when the additional household or business names associated with a membership also went away To put this in perspective in January 2012 there were 462 memberships We have been averaging about 30 members at the regular meetings not enough to make it worthwhile for speakers to prepare presentations and travel long distances to come to our meetings Our biggest financial costs are for liability coverage and rent for space for general meetings and SIGS that are lightly attended The board participated in a day long retreat last Saturday 5 17 2014 and we had long and frank discussions on the condition of NCMUG and its future The results of the survey were gone over thoroughly In addition 11 General members had been interviewed before the retreat and 3 of those interviewed joined the board at the retreat on Saturday The members did not realize the depth and breadth of the group s challenges In many respects the situation is disheartening but there is still some interest and passion to keep the group going The next few months are going to be critical for the future of NCMUG We need the support of the members now as never before We are going to need help to focus on defining our goals and future direction We are inviting and encouraging members to join us for a very important and critical discussion regarding the desired future of NCMUG All members are invited to join us on Tuesday June 17 2014 from 6 8 30 pm at the Rohnert Park Senior Center where we hold our regular General Meeting We plan to continue looking at our challenges and need the participation of members to help us find a way for NCMUG to continue to be of value to our community We will have pizza salads and beverages available between 6 6 30 with the meeting starting at 6 30 pm Please respond to Lorene

    Original URL path: http://www.ncmug.org/category/announcements/page/2/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive