archive-org.com » ORG » N » NUXIFIED.ORG

Total: 226

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • EnGarde Secure Linux – A quick review
    I guess this might be related to having EnGare Linux run in QEmu I don t think it ll be that slow when you install it on a real machine Also package and update management can be done in the web interface There are a couple of additional packages available but you won t find X in that list I don t see this as a problem but wanted to mention it since some users still like having a GUI on the server The installed software mostly seems to be pretty new The installed version EnGarde Secure Linux Community Edition 3 0 13 comes with kernel 2 6 19 Apache 2 2 4 PHP 4 4 6 PHP5 can be installed later via package management OpenSSH 4 5 and MySQL 5 0 33 System software like GlibC and GCC which is not installed by default comes in older versions GlibC is 2 3 6 and GCC is 3 4 4 I guess the developers here prefer to have versions that are thoroughly tested and known to be stable Though these packages are pretty old I am sure that all available security patches have been applied The package manager seems to be apt get which is suggested by the output during installation of new software in the web interface So it could be possible to add new repositories though I m not sure if it s possible to find some with packages for EnGarde Linux Overall EnGarde Secure Linux leaves a good and solid impression The web interface is really good to use and makes local or remote logins mostly unnecessary Only the forced registration in order to activate your installation is a little annoying but totally bearable when you keep in mind that you get an easy to use and

    Original URL path: http://www.nuxified.org/blog/engarde_secure_linux_a_quick_review/ (2016-04-30)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Using YouTube without flash
    based player with mplayerplug in or VLC or something in IceWeasel or similar lizards with the Greasemonkey extension Article by free zombie Community Blogs Tech Stack Solutions Tech Stack Solutions is my company that provides Unix support Sign up or simply get in touch to find out how I can help Search this Website Recent Posts How to Install Ubuntu Linux without a DVD or USB How to Securely Save All Your Passwords with Keepass 9 Signs You Should Use Linux on Your Computer The Easiest Way to Optimize Your MySQL Database Performance Setting up a Linux Web Development Environment in Windows Hunting Down Disk Space Hogs on Linux Command Line 6 Simple Android Apps for Monitoring and Managing Your Linux Server Easily Manage Remote Files on Linux with Konqueror and Kate webmin Best Control Panels if any for Managing a Linux Server Archives Archives Select Month December 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 February 2014 December 2010 May 2010 February 2010 January 2010 November 2009 September 2009 August 2009 June 2009 May 2009 April 2009 March 2009 December 2008 October 2008 August 2008 July 2008 June 2008 March 2008 February 2008 January 2008 December 2007 November

    Original URL path: http://www.nuxified.org/blog/using_youtube_without_flash/ (2016-04-30)
    Open archived version from archive

  • How to install OTRS (Open source Ticket Request System) in Debian
    to allow your support sales pre sales billing internal IT helpdesk etc department to react quickly to inbound inquiries Full Story Article by david23 Community Blogs Tech Stack Solutions Tech Stack Solutions is my company that provides Unix support Sign up or simply get in touch to find out how I can help Search this Website Recent Posts How to Install Ubuntu Linux without a DVD or USB How to Securely Save All Your Passwords with Keepass 9 Signs You Should Use Linux on Your Computer The Easiest Way to Optimize Your MySQL Database Performance Setting up a Linux Web Development Environment in Windows Hunting Down Disk Space Hogs on Linux Command Line 6 Simple Android Apps for Monitoring and Managing Your Linux Server Easily Manage Remote Files on Linux with Konqueror and Kate webmin Best Control Panels if any for Managing a Linux Server Archives Archives Select Month December 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 February 2014 December 2010 May 2010 February 2010 January 2010 November 2009 September 2009 August 2009 June 2009 May 2009 April 2009 March 2009 December 2008 October 2008 August 2008 July 2008 June 2008 March 2008 February 2008 January 2008 December

    Original URL path: http://www.nuxified.org/blog/how_to_install_otrs_open_source_ticket_request_system_in_debian/ (2016-04-30)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Fast forward with a Kazehakase web browser
    of seeing a new window with the list of all your downloads in progress they will just quitely lie in the bottom right corner as a small icon that gets darkened as the download advances so on 50 half of it will be darkened If you hover over it you ll see the percentage All the time in this corner it is saying drop link to download which is quite self explanatory and indicates another nice feature in Kazehakase Download in progress You can however view download progress in a special sidebar which also can be used for viewing bookmarks tab tree list and closed tabs but in a version that I tested this didn t quite seem to work I didn t see progress as it was happening Additional features The more I work with it the more I seem to discover It is unlikely that this review will cover everything that is hiding in this incredible little browser but it doesn t have to The fun is in trying it out yourself But I ll let you in on a few interesting bits UI levels The whole basic interface of Kazehakase can be viewed in three modes or UI levels as it s called beginner medium or expert Beginner is the most basic and exper is obviously much more revealing and could be slightly confusing to newbies This is a nice concept of adapting to various kinds of users with various experiences Switching UI levels in view menu Zooming vs increasing text size Increasing text size is one thing and Kazehakase normally allows you to do this via the view menu It simply increases the size of all normal text on the page However in addition to this you can increase the size of the whole page that is all elements of the page including images something that people with accessibility issuse would appreciate This is simply called zooming Tools The tools menu in Kazehakase 0 4 3 allows you to extract links from the page you are currently viewing clip selected items into the clip s menu save and restore full tab sessions and there is also a Ruby dialog which I suppose allows for some sort of scripting of additional possibilities I can imagine how these can be quite useful For example you could use the clip tool to build a nice in browser quotes list you just select a quote you found very inspiring and clip it in the clip menu Loading a clip from tools menu Mouse gestures This takes a bit of figuring out but once you do it is quite exciting The best way to get a feel for how the mouse gestures function in Kazehakase is to play with the mouse gesture configuration specifically with editing the actual gestures for a given command Gestures are basically all about directions up down left and right In Kazehakase these are respectively marked by letters as U D L and R For Kazehakase to

    Original URL path: http://www.nuxified.org/article/fast_forward_with_a_kazehakase_web_browser/ (2016-04-30)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Curly Braces are Damn Useful Things
    bar hello you can use the following command mv foo bar a out hello The source file a out is separated from the destination file hello within the curly braces by the comma The curly braces are used in much the same way with cp For example if you want to copy foo bar hello to foo baz goodbye you would use the following command cp foo bar hello baz goodbye Article by dylunio Community Blogs Tech Stack Solutions Tech Stack Solutions is my company that provides Unix support Sign up or simply get in touch to find out how I can help Search this Website Recent Posts How to Install Ubuntu Linux without a DVD or USB How to Securely Save All Your Passwords with Keepass 9 Signs You Should Use Linux on Your Computer The Easiest Way to Optimize Your MySQL Database Performance Setting up a Linux Web Development Environment in Windows Hunting Down Disk Space Hogs on Linux Command Line 6 Simple Android Apps for Monitoring and Managing Your Linux Server Easily Manage Remote Files on Linux with Konqueror and Kate webmin Best Control Panels if any for Managing a Linux Server Archives Archives Select Month December

    Original URL path: http://www.nuxified.org/blog/curly_braces_are_damn_useful_things/ (2016-04-30)
    Open archived version from archive

  • drawing fake brush strokes in inkscape (visual tutorial)
    on Your Computer The Easiest Way to Optimize Your MySQL Database Performance Setting up a Linux Web Development Environment in Windows Hunting Down Disk Space Hogs on Linux Command Line 6 Simple Android Apps for Monitoring and Managing Your Linux Server Easily Manage Remote Files on Linux with Konqueror and Kate webmin Best Control Panels if any for Managing a Linux Server Archives Archives Select Month December 2014 July 2014

    Original URL path: http://www.nuxified.org/blog/drawing_fake_brush_strokes_in_inkscape_visual_tutorial/ (2016-04-30)
    Open archived version from archive

  • KDE vs. GTK
    so there is a quite limited amount of easily installable themes So about this screenshot I was lucky to have klearlook in Debian repositories as well as a few alternative icon themes so that was easy to install The icon theme on the screenshot is NuoveXT installed via synaptic and the theme used is slightly customized reconfigured lipstik with a klearlook colors You can use a full klearlook theme as well but lipstik combined with klearlook colors looked cleaner within KDE while still being quite sufficiently similar looking to GTK apps On the screenshot you have thunar and konqueror open so you can judge for yourself I have installed a qt gtk engine and set GTK apps to use clearlooks theme In xfce I also set the NuoveXT icon theme and then run the xfce mcs manager to load this setting along KDE so that when I use Xfce GTK apps in KDE they use the same icon theme and pretty much the same looks I think this is what you call a unified desktop I have the power of KDE combined with the looks I usually have in GTK Just awesome Now we ll see if any specifics of KDE get me back to using Xfce like memory issues although surprisingly KDE is quite fast on Debian Sid but for now I m quite happy to work in this environment If you need help with getting your desktop to look a bit like this feel free to ask Cheers Article by libervisco Images and Screenshots Tech Stack Solutions Tech Stack Solutions is my company that provides Unix support Sign up or simply get in touch to find out how I can help Search this Website Recent Posts How to Install Ubuntu Linux without a DVD or USB How to

    Original URL path: http://www.nuxified.org/image/kde_vs_gtk/ (2016-04-30)
    Open archived version from archive

  • gnu radio?
    Database Performance Setting up a Linux Web Development Environment in Windows Hunting Down Disk Space Hogs on Linux Command Line 6 Simple Android Apps for Monitoring and Managing Your Linux Server Easily Manage Remote Files on Linux with Konqueror and Kate webmin Best Control Panels if any for Managing a Linux Server Archives Archives Select Month December 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 February 2014 December 2010

    Original URL path: http://www.nuxified.org/image/gnu_radio/ (2016-04-30)
    Open archived version from archive



  •