archive-org.com » ORG » T » TELEMARKPHAT.ORG

Total: 279

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Telemark Phat. Telemark skiing in Australia. Scarpa Tx and NTN Review
    high volume boot with a massive toe box I did not have any of the flex issues many complained about and found the stiff bellows increased the boots performance but I do prefer stiffer boots to softer boots I will be interested to ski the softer 2nd generation Tx Without the duckbill I found the NTN standard allows a more natural gait when walking and it will be a godsend for kicking steps and rock scrambling I would certainly buy into the NTN rather than buying a pair of T2xs and a 75mm binding because the Tx is a lighter boot has no duckbill and delivers more performance The Scarpa Tx never made it to Australian shores several retailers were very disappointed when their boots did not arrive for this winter as few Australians will ever ski it I hope this review will be useful to those considering buying the 2nd Generation Tx 1st Generation Rottefella NTN The Rottefella NTN combines with boots like the NTN to deliver a new standard for Telemark skiers The NTN has increased performance over 75mm bindings customisable activity non DIN standard release Rottefella call it catastrophic release tour mode breaks and allow skiers to get into and out of their bindings whilst remaining standing Whilst the NTN is not the holy grail it is heavy the release is not DIN standard and it is not step in is is a big step forward from the 75mm standard The 2nd generation NTN should be an even further step forward Rottefella NTN Binding The NTN is a very powerfull binding which allows very precise edge controll Power is delivered to the ski more effeciently by the shorter lever between the Duckbutt and the toepiece of the binding than by the longer lever of 75mm bindings This short lever also allows edging and lateral power even better than the Bomber Bishop The NTN is a step forward in performance over 75mm Activity and release are controlled by spring strength and tension 4 springs were available with the 1st Generation binding with the 2nd generation NTN the stiffest spring has been dropped and a new soft spring has been added for the new short length Since both activity and release are controlled by the same springs skiers will have to decide between skiing at their ideal activity level or at the correct release setting However even for skiers who prefer release over performance will still be ahead as the NTN vastly outperforms the Voile CRB bindings and the 7tM bindings I have not played around with the activity level as the binding felt great on my first run and I have not tested the release function but I ll update this later The tour mode is activated by pulling up in inner anodised lever The NTN s tour mode does not have the same range of motion as the other tour mode bindings on the market but North American skiers feel that the NTN s tour mode has

    Original URL path: http://www.telemarkphat.org/_pages/_review/_gear/NTN&Tx_review_2008-09-08.html (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Telemark Phat.Telemark skiing in Australia - Perisher Report 19th of September 2010
    onto almost every lift A huge landing hill had appeared in Sun Valley reportedly for Bobby Brown to send on Sunday The idiot seemed very broken at 4 15 on our way back and we were treated to an empty Front Valley Update 27 09 2010 I ve put together the footage tom took of me into a video Update 28 09 2010 Tom sent me a video including footage I took of him on Saturday and footage of the APSI Demo Team practicing for interski in Austria next year video The Double chuggin away Wylie s was brilliant Boomerang was great too Tom and the landing hill Look at the groomer for a sense of scale A near empty Front Valley Sunday was the last day of skiing at Blue Cow and Guthega despite an excellent cover As a further sign of Perisher s money grubbing their parking attendants failed to guide cars into a whole row of the parking lot I skied with Dan and Libby in the afternoon at Guthega Once again it was perfect spring skiing made even better by a lunch out the front of the Guthega Alpine Hotel Perisher is tight They can t

    Original URL path: http://www.telemarkphat.org/_pages/_report/_perisher/_2010/2010-09-19.html (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Telemark Phat.Telemark skiing in Australia - Perisher Report 15th of September 2010
    made areas like Front Valley Goats Gully and Towers have an excellent cover The snow was firm and fast early and was starting to soften by 10 30 at Eyre I had to leave at 12 00 so I decided I d see what the snow was like on the east face of Mt Wheatley It had turned to perfect corn I had a blast and if it weren t

    Original URL path: http://www.telemarkphat.org/_pages/_report/_perisher/_2010/2010-09-15.html (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Telemark Phat.Telemark skiing in Australia - Perisher Report 11th of September 2010
    Skifree and Katherine joined me for a ski Despite Skifree and Katherine bringing the crowds with them we got three more runs with first tracks The snow was 5cm 10cm deep and dry in most places with some crust peaking out higher up as usual the deepest stuff was down low Blaxland and Wentworth Leichhardt with Mt Back Perisher in the Background Towers Mt Back P International Eyre Patrol got some tracks before me on Boomerang My First set of Tracks Second Set Third and Second Sets Katherine following my 4th Skifree following my 5th Skifree chasing up my 6th set After a run down Olympic which is in great condition not even a traverse rut Katherine and I boarded the Quad for a run down Farm Creek I was stunned as we shared the run with two other skiers that has never happened to me before despite the crowd Farm Creek was brilliant as usual Next we headed for the Parachute trees which had more great but quickly softening freshies For a bit of variety we headed right from the top of Parachute instead of the usual left The snowgum regrowth became too thick on the lower third of the run and we traversed back to the regular lines to ski down to the road In another couple of years the Parachute trees may well be unskiable without some surreptitious pruning Katherine on Olympic Skifree on Olympic Me on Farm Creek Katherine amongst the regrowing Parachute Trees More Parachute Trees We finished the day on No Name Ridge the rock line between Pleasant Valley and the Interceptor please email me if you know its name I got a nice little 12 to 15ft of air the landing was a bit flat and the snow wind affected due to how

    Original URL path: http://www.telemarkphat.org/_pages/_report/_perisher/_2010/2010-09-11.html (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Telemark Phat.Telemark skiing in Australia - Perisher Report 25th of August 2010
    on Saturday It was blowing a gale and raining when I left Jindabyne and continued to rain until I reached the Prussian Creek Chain Bay I arrived at the car park at 6 00am and it was covered in about 5cm of slush and about 5cm seemed to have accumulated near the car park The RTA auto fit chains now sign at the end of the car park had blown over in the wind and was looking very sad We have lost 40cm 50cm of snow and the snow pack is rotten all the way through The Perisher Creek is pretty high too Other commitments stopped me from going out on the hill but Blanchy s is still just intact so the damage was not too catastrophic Buller however had a landslide in a car park several cars were flooded in the Village Green Car park when the Thredbo River burst its banks Hotham received severe damage down low and lost a control building for the Village chair due to flash flooding Car park slush Yay white not clear snow Another shot of the slush Sad RTA automatic sign It looks like it got a bit wet A high Perisher

    Original URL path: http://www.telemarkphat.org/_pages/_report/_perisher/_2010/2010-09-05.html (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Telemark Phat.Telemark skiing in Australia - Perisher Report 25th of August 2010
    ever freshies day at Smiggins There was 15cm to 20cm of dry dry snow which was a joy to ski in especially with the good visibility I made my way over to International and had more great turns in the GS bowl Over here the snow was drifting to 30cm But the real goods were over in Shifty s again Here I found snow 40cm to 50cm deep and with

    Original URL path: http://www.telemarkphat.org/_pages/_report/_perisher/_2010/2010-08-25.html (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Telemark Phat.Telemark skiing in Australia - Perisher Report 21st and 22nd of August 2010
    my GS skis proving you don t need stupid fat skis like the canoes to ski off piste but they sure do make it more fun The wind had been so strong it had dropped 10cm of snow inside the men s Ski Tube toilets Conditions were similar to Friday but there were less wind scoured areas On Sunday it was SL training We had to train on the lower section of Racecourse which was not at all ideal because Perisher Management has decided we can t train at Guthega any more grrrrr Mark and I traversed around the back of Mt Blue Cow to ski the usual goodness at the top of Racecourse but all we found was the wind lip and wind scoured ice At least we got some great views of the main range We also had a quick run down Kamikaze while the course was reset up top it had a nasty crust but down low it was nice and dry Snow drifted into the Ski Tube mens toilets Towers was good skiing Leidchardt T Bar The most interesting campervan I ve ever seen Mt Blue Cow South Ridge The Main Range from Mt Blue Cow

    Original URL path: http://www.telemarkphat.org/_pages/_report/_perisher/_2010/2010-08-22.html (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Telemark Phat.Telemark skiing in Australia - Perisher Report 20th of August 2010
    unusual places Tony took the day off work and joined me for an epic day of freshies searching We started off with a couple of runs in Leidchardt which had 10cm 20cm of fresh and was nicely protected from the wind My favourite jumping rock is still not in condition but a little rock underneath it gave me my first air of the season A couple more laps and a couple more little airs and we decided to move on Over at International we found drifts of 20cm in between patches of wind scoured ice the best line was down GS Bowl with consistent deep snow almost the whole way However we hit the good stuff once we made our way over to Eyre Boomerang was good for a couple of laps but still had some wind scouring Shifty s however held the goods especially the right line We were skiing drifts of up to 50cm in places with face shots a plenty in the dry wind blown First baby air for the winter Powder Bowl Fun Tony in the GS Bowl Tony showing off the Rocker on the Caones And having a blast The snow on Shifty s was

    Original URL path: http://www.telemarkphat.org/_pages/_report/_perisher/_2010/2010-08-20.html (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive



  •