archive-org.com » ORG » T » TRANSCRIPT-REVIEW.ORG

Total: 486

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Transcript (English)
    POETRY Mario Azzopardi POETRY Norbert Bugeja POETRY Antoine Cassar POETRY Joe Friggieri POETRY Simone Galea POETRY Adrian Grima POETRY Maria Grech Ganado POETRY Simone Inguanez POETRY Nadia Mifsud POETRY Albert Marshall Transcript is a Literature Across Frontiers publication Copyright Gilbert Calleja Monologue of the gravedigger by Clare Azzopardi So I tell Ġiljan once I say there s no way I m putting on a tie not in this heat it would kill me dammit but he says no fucking way Ġuż you ve just got to go on now and get dressed and change that jacket that one s for down below up here you wear something different Jesus Christ how many times must I tell you we ve got de Piro de Celis lined up for today an eminence he was know what I m saying Couldn t care less to tell the truth Copyright Gilbert Calleja Four days by Immanuel Mifsud After a while she said she wanted to do it again and in reply I reached out towards the clock on the bedside table What time is it Twenty to four Still early so Let s do it again And she climbed on top of me before

    Original URL path: http://transcript-review.org/en/issue/transcript-38-malta (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Transcript (English)
    Finnish contemporary literature A Wealth of Voices PROFILE Latvian Literature and the Publishing Scene ESSAY Dark Sides by Adrian Grima Transcript is a Literature Across Frontiers publication PROSE The Third Thing by Sian Melangell Dafydd Welsh I was half way up the mountain when I thought only then mind you I didn t cook that bacon I m almost sure of it The bad taste won t go away as

    Original URL path: http://transcript-review.org/en/issue/transcript-37-the-best-of-transcript (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Transcript (English)
    Get Thirsty by Helim Yusiv NOVEL EXTRACT Sad Animals by Jordi Punti NOVEL EXTRACT Blade of Light by Harkaitz Cano SHORT STORY Conkers by Ilona Ferková PROFILE A voice for a Roma generation Ilona Ferková POETRY Narcís Comadira POETRY Ailbhe Ní Ghearbhuigh POETRY Niillas Holmberg POETRY Yolanda Castaño FOUND IN TRANSLATION Transcript is a Literature Across Frontiers publication 8 Maerz A kid s history and two languages a memoir by Helim Yusiv That child grew up went to schools and universities In that beautiful language of the state he wrote in newspapers magazines and books He got older and grayness invaded the hair of his entire soul To calm down the snaps of fire in his burning soul he stained the faces of white papers with his black ink He wrote stories about forbidden language forbidden love and forbidden life A black ink inspired in its darkness by the darkness of night He wrote at night and slept during the day Made in Galicia a bestseller in Kurdish Güler made the translation of the book into a community project involving a number of Kurdish cultural figures in the translation First he translated the book from Galician into Turkish with the help of a Galician friend and teacher Pepa Baamonde The next step was to translate the individual stories into Kurdish and 34 writers singers translators and politicians shared this task The Jeweller by Caryl Lewis Amen she whispered Nanw was mimicking her by leaning against her cage s grid arms clutched round her body The weak light glowed silver in Mari s hair and ruby across the dark face of the monkey The chill had crept up Mari s spine so she fetched a cardigan and hooked it over her shoulders She let the cat into the bedroom to keep

    Original URL path: http://transcript-review.org/en/issue/transcript-36-the-literatures-of-stateless-nations (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Transcript (English)
    in a column of a Macedonian daily newspaper a thesis appeared claiming that the adolescent is a whole nation meaning the Macedonian nation and that our adolescence may be an advantage The advantage concerned is actually the advantage of terrorist infantilism At the same time after I am amnestied as infantile and as someone s son I can express my position of revolt and of rebellion without a cause This era begins with the acknowledgement of the son s right to be angry without a reason to be angry just because he is a son From Jelena Luzhina s essay The Theatre of Violence Today the Macedonian translation of Shopping and Fucking was performed in Skopje only two years after the London opening by the Macedonian National Theatre and which is more with great success too I am quite inclined to conclude that this drastic and in terms of the circumstances of Macedonian theatre surprisingly bold and highly professionally directed and acted play could be performed in Skopje as far back as five years ago only due to several undeniable facts of theatre history that had preceded it and which demand further elaboration From Jovica Ivanovski s poem Autumn in

    Original URL path: http://transcript-review.org/en/issue/transcript-35-macedonia (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Transcript (English)
    a few squares a few shops some people wandering the streets Here and there in a black crater he thought he could recognise the ghost of a café or a pizzeria even though it was besmeared with soot a sudden blackness in violent contrast with the whiteness of the light Besmeared or besmirched Let the devil come and decide What was he saying The devil didn t have to come he was already there The devil was if not the owner certainly an inhabitant honoris causa of the zone That was the reason precisely because it was a hell that Greg had chosen that place what remained of it because the devil of that former paradise had made his home there Let s be clear Greg had come there to die Plan B by Lina Theodorou Read more from Distant Space by Jaroslavas Melnikas At last unable to bear it any longer he made up his mind to take a walk along the Central Boulevard He did not take a single pill that had been prescribed to him and now he felt like a criminal Indeed why had he gone to the District Controller why had he resorted to the

    Original URL path: http://transcript-review.org/en/issue/transcript-34-science-fiction-and-political-fantasy (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Transcript (English)
    everywhere believe me Even the donkeys the dogs they understand politics because we live in a highly politicised society and region in general of course it s not just all about Gaza Asma Shaker They float down slowly onto the roofs and the streets hang on pylons and electrical poles get caught on wires The clamour of little boys playing in the street nearby one of them has gathered up

    Original URL path: http://transcript-review.org/en/issue/transcript-33-gaza (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Transcript (English)
    Then again short and subtle shadows I felt the breeze Inhaled the smell of filthy leather I wanted to reach out to the darkness covering my eyes I couldn t lift my arms I felt them under my body Pain ran down my shoulders I couldn t force them any further I held my breath And then let go I tried to twitch my fingers My right arm felt more comfortable I touched my right wrist Cold iron Excerpt from the novel Dünyanın Uğultusu The Drone of the World by Behçet Çelik Maybe that s what she sensed that he was doing things he didn t used to do Of course it was crystal clear But he was so prepossessed with the lack inside of him that he was oblivious to it all to Özlem to what was going on around him to everything You re bound to screw it all up Ahmet if you get so obsessed you start poking around in some tiny hole barely enough to fit your finger in and next thing you know you ve ripped it wide open Excerpt from A Week of Kindness in Istanbul by Murat Gülsoy I think I am the

    Original URL path: http://transcript-review.org/en/issue/transcript-32-new-prose-fiction-from-turkey (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Transcript (English)
    zero and the day begins from number one Catherine can imagine this The Madonna round Evelina s by Pierre Mejlak He had met her in the Hungry Duck in the heart of Moscow where the ladies can drink as much as they like free of charge until half eleven at night The two of them happened to be at the bar She with a Hanky Panky he a Vodka Martini

    Original URL path: http://transcript-review.org/en/issue/transcript-31-autumn-shorts (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive



  •