archive-org.com » ORG » W » WMPG.ORG

Total: 344

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Chris Darling Reviews River Coffee by Sean McGowan - WMPG
    pieces done eloquently with originality simply recorded But wait don t just expect a simple glide through some jazz guitar played like you ve never heard Sean does jazz guitar paying homage to the greats Miles Monk Duke Ellington a touch of Bill Evans He also does Ska He does a funky strutting Improv piece where he says in his generous journal like liner notes for all you guitarists out there There are all kinds of mistakes but I wanted to leave everything in there and groove on it Myself I ve yet to find a mistake on this recording The many voices within each piece defy explanation well not really for in these same articulate liner notes Sean tells of his playing techniques reviews each tune and the project as a whole This is a totally engaged artist and a totally engaging recording Sean s study of music has led him from NYC s High School for the Performing Arts to the Berklee School of Music in Boston This foundation laid the groundwork for becoming a master guitarist His approach to all the tracks are right there for you to witness likely with your jaw on the floor especially when you realize there are no overdubs The disc includes six compositions of his own plus some interpretations inspired by the Great artists before him The honest virtuosity shines on each track and this disc will get many many spins from me This could be is the finest debut Acoustic Guitar release ever The playing is tops the liner notes exceptional Acoustic Guitar lovers this is a disc to hear and study Master Guitarist Tuck Andress says it well Sean McGowan is the most promising young solo guitarist I ve ever heard His first CD River Coffee paints a broad

    Original URL path: http://www.wmpg.org/chris-darling-reviews-river-coffee-by-sean-mcgowan/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Pete Hodgin Reviews There Are No New Clouds by Ideas of Space - WMPG
    Staff Contacts Donation Sustainer Info Newsletter Subscriptions DJ Request Form How to Get Involved Pete Hodgin Reviews There Are No New Clouds by Ideas of Space Posted January 23 2013 by WMPG This debut release from Sydney Australia s Ides of Space arrived at WMPG late last year and promptly blew my teenie little indie mind Completely skipping a gawky musical adolescence this quintet managed to show up on the first day of school with a nearly flawless balance of lush shoe gazing melody and carefully controlled bursts of thunderous fuzzy guitar Patrick Haid s airy but confident and cleanly recorded vocals and the band s brilliant soft loud soft pop mechanics echo everything once or currently satisfying about bands like Seam and Death Cab for Cutie Some cuts This Side of the Screen and Switchboard start with quiet hooks and build while others I Promise Not to Notice If You Promise to Pretend and No Trace of Fading dispense with formalities and launch almost immediately into thick layers of My Bloody Valentine inspired rock It s almost grotesque for a band s first release to be this damned good but their over achieving is our gain Filed under Music Review Leave a Reply Cancel reply Your email address will not be published Required fields are marked Comment Name Email Website Next Post Previous Post Cart ADVERTISEMENTS Search Now Playing WMPG Soundbites Subscribe to WMPG s monthly newsletter and be the first to hear about upcoming WMPG events and promotions Submit Funded in part by A Proud Partner of Contact WMPG WMPG Street Address 92 Bedford Street Portland ME WMPG Mailing Address 96 Falmouth Street Portland ME 04104 9300 General Information 207 780 4943 On Air Requests 207 780 4909 DJ Request Email djrequest wmpg org Home LISTEN WMPG Live

    Original URL path: http://www.wmpg.org/pete-hodgin-reviews-there-are-no-new-clouds-by-ideas-of-space/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Valerie Cartonio Reviews Amajacoustic by Clan/destine - WMPG
    How to Get Involved Valerie Cartonio Reviews Amajacoustic by Clan destine Posted January 23 2013 by WMPG Clan destine Amajacoustic By Valerie Cartonio This is the third release for this band out of Tempe Arizona Last year they walked away with a Native American Music Award NAMMY for Best Pop Rock Recording of the Year Recently Clan destine was nominated for Best Duo Group of the Year Amajacoustic is a wonderful blend of sweet guitar sounds mixed with traditional instruments flute rattles and hand drums This is by far the very best recording Clan destine has done The music is crisp and fresh adding a couple of tracks with traditional vocals and chants This is an all around perfect blend of the traditional and contemporary Native American music There is very little Rock flavor if any on this CD which in the past is what most of their CD s featured This band has been around for a while and has perfected it s sound Out of nine tracks on this CD eight have received airplay on Echoes in the Wind For you Native American music enthusiasts run to the stores for this CD For more information on Clan destine visit the http www rezdawgs com site Filed under Music Review Leave a Reply Cancel reply Your email address will not be published Required fields are marked Comment Name Email Website Next Post Previous Post Cart ADVERTISEMENTS Search Now Playing WMPG Soundbites Subscribe to WMPG s monthly newsletter and be the first to hear about upcoming WMPG events and promotions Submit Funded in part by A Proud Partner of Contact WMPG WMPG Street Address 92 Bedford Street Portland ME WMPG Mailing Address 96 Falmouth Street Portland ME 04104 9300 General Information 207 780 4943 On Air Requests 207 780 4909

    Original URL path: http://www.wmpg.org/valerie-cartonio-reviews-amajacoustic-by-clandestine/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Lenny Smith Reviews The Id by Macy Gray - WMPG
    release but with her second offering The Id she may have surpassed it It may take a few thousand more listenings to know for sure but then like her first LP The Id is tremendously repeatable While this album feels in no way like a copy or a rehash of her first release there is a continuity with it and the same lushness of arrangements and astonishing blend of styles and influences That and Macy s unique vocals and worldview make for thirteen killer tracks complete with beautiful booklet with production notes and lyrics And what lyrics As on her first album while the soulful tunes and rich arrangements wash over you there s a gradual realization that this gal s writing from a wondrously skewed point of view Remember I Committed Murder or her upbeat song about suicide The Letter This time we get Relating to a Psychopath and that s just the album s opener Macy whirls through a dizzying blend of styles tempos and feelings in songs like the awesomely funky disco throwback Sexual Revolution and the slinky no nonsense message of Gimme All Your Lovin or I Will Kill You I held tighter to my ak He said Please please whatever you need Guest appearances from Slick Rick Erikah Badu Sunshine Anderson Angie Stone and Mos Def add to the fun but the real star is Macy and her unusual perspectives on relationships meditations on the state of the world and how best to ignore it Macy is a totally class act Filed under Music Review Leave a Reply Cancel reply Your email address will not be published Required fields are marked Comment Name Email Website Next Post Previous Post Cart ADVERTISEMENTS Search Now Playing WMPG Soundbites Subscribe to WMPG s monthly newsletter and be the

    Original URL path: http://www.wmpg.org/lenny-smith-reviews-the-id-by-macy-gray/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Ron Raymond Reviews 22 Dreams by Paul Weller - WMPG
    Now I thought the time was right to make the sort of record I wanted to make he says of the creative process which led to the new album Instead of worrying about anyone else I wanted to really push the boat out I think the result is going to surprise a few people Well he s probably right 22 Dreams goes all over the map from the string laden alt folk opener Light Nights and the lovely Where er Ye Go to the pop of Empty Ring to straight up rock and roll on All I Wanna Do Is Be With You and Have You Made Up Your Mind to crooning on Invisible to the spoken word ditty God to echoing back to his old Jam days on the title track to the experimental 111 to the brilliant classical tribute to the late wife of John Coltrane Song For Alice she passed away in February 2007 with Robert Wyatt of Soft Machine lending his efforts on trumpet and piano Ex Blur guitarist Graham Coxon appears on the piano heavy Black River and 22 Dreams also features guest appearances from Noel Gallagher and Gem Archer from Oasis on the 60s influenced Echoes Around The Sun which was co written by Weller and Gallagher 22 Dreams may be the album Paul Weller has always wanted to do but I think it will the album people will want to hear again and again Just a wonderful piece of work from the man who brought us Going Underground My Ever Changing Moods and A Town Called Malice songs that have been cherished for many years I think the same will apply for the songs on 22 Dreams in the years to come Filed under Music Review Leave a Reply Cancel reply Your email

    Original URL path: http://www.wmpg.org/ron-raymond-reviews-22-dreams-by-paul-weller/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Ron Raymond Reviews Don't you know who I think I was? Best of the Replacements by The Replacements - WMPG
    Rhino Records 2006 By Ron Raymond WMPG Music Director Minneapolis rock heroes The Replacements led by a rock hero in his own right Paul Westerberg have had a best of compilation before the fantastic 1997 2 CD Reprise collection All For Nothing Nothing For All immediately comes to mind and I know what you re saying why review a compilation that s already 2 years old Well in April 2008 the good folks at Rhino reissued deluxe editions of all of the band s great early Twin Tone Records albums Sorry Ma Forgot To Take Out The Trash Stink Hootenanny and Let It Be And in honor of that I thought for those folks looking for a starter course on the music of The Replacements they should start with this great collection Rhino released before the reissues In addition to such great early songs as Color Me Impressed I Will Dare and Within Your Reach which was later featured in the movie Say Anything Don t You Know also features the best of the band s Sire Reprise years with songs like Alex Chilton Can t Hardly Wait I ll Be You and four songs from the brilliant 1985 album Tim The album also features 2 new recordings as of 2006 Message To The Boys and Pool Dive I think that once you listen to these 20 songs you ll be ready to snag the rest of the great Replacements collection Truly one of the best best of collections put together Filed under Music Review Leave a Reply Cancel reply Your email address will not be published Required fields are marked Comment Name Email Website Next Post Previous Post Cart ADVERTISEMENTS Search Now Playing WMPG Soundbites Subscribe to WMPG s monthly newsletter and be the first to hear about upcoming

    Original URL path: http://www.wmpg.org/ron-raymond-reviews-dont-you-know-who-i-think-i-was-best-of-the-replacements-by-the-replacements/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Ron Raymond Reviews Everything That Happens Will Happen Today by David Byrne & Brian Eno - WMPG
    its sound most notably on the track The Jezebel Spirit was very similar to the Talking Heads classic I Zimbra from 1979 s Fear Of Music The new album though tends to lean more towards David Byrne s most recent solo efforts including 2001 s Look Into The Eyeball and especially 2004 s Grown Backwards Right from the opening chords of Home the opening song on Everything That Happens Will Happen Today you can tell instantly tell this album will be quite different than its predecessor You will feel at Home as you reconnect with David Byrne s unmistakable vocals which just get better with age I think and Brian Eno s always impressive instrumentations Upon starting this project we quickly realized we were making something like electronic gospel music in which singing becomes the central event but whose sonic landscapes are atypical of such vocal centered tracks This notion tapped into my long love affair with gospel music which curiously was inadvertently initiated by David and the Talking Heads says Brian Eno of the making of the new album I find this most evident on the songs The River the beautiful Everything That Happens One Fine Day and the album s lovely closer The Lighthouse Album highlights also include the brilliant six and a half minute track I Feel My Stuff which features noticeably on guitar Roxy Music s own Phil Manzanera and the light funk of the fun Strange Overtones If you were to have purchased this album because you wanted more of My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts I honestly don t think you would have brought it back to the store I truly think what WILL happen with Everything That Happens Will Happen Today is that you will enjoy it for what it is an

    Original URL path: http://www.wmpg.org/ron-raymond-reviews-everything-that-happens-will-happen-today-by-david-byrne-brian-eno/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Ron Raymond Reviews The Sound of the Smiths by The Smiths - WMPG
    1987 collective LOUDER THAN BOMBS Now Sire and Rhino have teamed up once again to bring fans THE SOUND OF THE SMITHS a 23 track one CD offering of this 4 man band s most memorable hits Included are favorites like Hand In Glove This Charming Man William Was It Really Nothing Bigmouth Strikes Again Panic Ask Sheila Take A Bow Girlfriend In A Coma the full length version of How Soon Is Now and the John Peel Sessions version of What Difference Does It Make For the diehard fans like myself I opted for the 2 CD edition in which the second disc features 22 B sides and rarities such as Jeane which was later covered brilliantly by Billy Bragg the New York vocal extended mix of This Charming Man Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want the haunting Asleep Sweet And Tender Hooligan Stop Me If You Think You ve Heard This One Before and two great instrumentals Money Changes Anything and Oscillate Wildly The songwriting team of vocalist Morrissey and guitarist Johnny Marr has been compared as the alt rock equivalent of Lennon McCartney and The Smiths have inspired many past and present bands including James The Cranberries Oasis guitarist Noel Gallagher Radiohead guitarist Ed O Brien Belle And Sebastian and Blur who apparently formed after seeing The Smiths on a British television show If you are fan of The Smiths and have been holding out for a 4 CD box set well this is the closest thing you ll get but it s worth it especially the 2 disc edition Filed under Music Review Leave a Reply Cancel reply Your email address will not be published Required fields are marked Comment Name Email Website Next Post Previous Post Cart ADVERTISEMENTS Search Now Playing WMPG

    Original URL path: http://www.wmpg.org/ron-raymond-reviews-the-sound-of-the-smiths-by-the-smiths/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive



  •